Native American Heritage Month Resources: Reading & Research

• Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America This link opens in a new window

  "Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America™ (formerly Bibliography of Native North Americans) is a bibliographic database covering all aspects of native North American culture, history, and life. This resource covers a wide range of topics including archaeology, multicultural relations, gaming, governance, legend, and literacy." -- EBSCO

  more... less...

  The database "contains more than 132,000 citations for books, essays, journal articles, and government documents of the United States and Canada. Dates of coverage for included content range from the sixteenth century to the present. The database is an essential research tool for anthropologists, educators, historians, political scientists, sociologists, psychologists, legal and medical researchers, linguists, theologians, ethnobotanists, and policy makers. [It] will appeal to anyone interested in exploring the contributions, struggles, and issues surrounding North America's indigenous peoples." -- EBSCO
• Indian Affairs: Laws and Treaties This link opens in a new window

  "Indian Affairs: Laws and Treaties, compiled and edited by Charles J. Kappler, is an historically significant, seven volume compilation of U.S. treaties, laws and executive orders pertaining to Native American Indian tribes. The volumes cover U.S. Government treaties with Native Americans from 1778-1883 (Volume II) and U.S. laws and executive orders concerning Native Americans from 1871-1970 (Volumes I, III-VII). The work was first published in 1903-04 by the U.S. Government Printing Office. Enhanced by the editors' use of margin notations and a comprehensive index, the information contained in Indian Affairs: Laws and Treaties is in high demand by Native peoples, researchers, journalists, attorneys, legislators, teachers and others of both Native and non-Native origins." -- Oklahoma State University Library
• Indian Claims Commission Decisions This link opens in a new window

  "In cooperation with the University of Tulsa Law Library and the National Indian Law Library, the Electronic Publishing Center digitized all 43 volumes of this collection." -- OSU Library Website
• Indigenous Histories and Cultures in North America This link opens in a new window

  "The wide range of material included in Indigenous Histories and Cultures in North America presents a unique insight into interactions between Indigenous Peoples in North America and European colonists from their earliest contact, continuing through the turbulence of the American Civil War, the on-going repercussions of government legislation, right up to the civil rights movement of the mid- to late-twentieth century. This resource contains material from the Newberry Library’s extensive Edward E. Ayer Collection; one of the strongest archival collections on histories of Indigenous Peoples in North America in the world." -- Website
• Indigenous Newspapers in North America This link opens in a new window

  "From historic pressings to contemporary periodicals, explore nearly 200 years of Indigenous print journalism from the US and Canada. With newspapers representing a huge variety in publisher, audience and era, discover how events were reported by and for Indigenous communities." -- website
• Indigenous Peoples of North America This link opens in a new window

  Indigenous Peoples of North America "provides users with a robust, diverse, informative source that will enhance research and increase understanding of the historical experiences, cultural traditions and innovations, and political status of indigenous peoples in the United States and Canada. Researchers will explore the impact of invasion and colonization on Indigenous Peoples in North America, and the intersection of Indigenous and European histories and systems of knowledge through the use of manuscripts, monographs, newspapers, photographs, motion pictures, images of artwork, and more." -- Gale

  more... less...

  "These are the primary sources that take students beyond the facts and figures of history and into a deeper understanding of Indigenous Peoples. Content has been sourced from both American and Canadian institutions and has received direct-from-source permission to digitize newspapers from various tribes and organizations. This archive also features indigenous language materials, including dictionaries, religious texts, and primers." -- Gale
• Indigenous Peoples of the Americas: History, Culture & Law This link opens in a new window

  "HeinOnline's Indigenous Peoples of the Americas: History, Culture & Law [formerly known as American Indian Law Collection] was created from a desire to consolidate the wealth of material available on indigenous American life and law, and to share the tremendous influence that these peoples and their cultures have had on the development of the United States. With more than 3,700 titles and 1.5 million total pages, this library includes an expansive archive of historical materials." -- HeinOnline