Handling rare books and archival materials
Special Collections works hard to preserve and maintain rare books and one-of-a-kind materials. We want to ensure that our collections are accessible to future scholars and generations, and ask researchers and patrons to follow these rules when handling archival materials.
- Handle all McFarlin Special Collections materials with care. Special Collections staff reserves the right to advise proper use of materials at any time, or make adjustments to the way materials are arranged on a patron workspace. Furniture may not be rearranged. Patrons may not stand on chairs or tables.
- Wash your hands before your appointment. Staff can direct you to the nearest restroom for your convenience. Hand sanitizer is not a substitute, as it leaves a residue on materials.
- We use the 1:1:1 rule: researchers can use one book or box at a time, can remove one folder from that box at a time, and should only turn one page at a time.
- Keep Special Collections materials flat on the table surface at all times. Do not angle or hold folders or books on the edge of the desk or in your lap. Document boxes and other items must be arranged on the table in such a way that Special Collections staff can see across your workspace, and should not obstruct this view.
- Keep all written notes separate from the archival materials. Do not write or trace on top of any item or folder, or make any marks in or on Special Collections materials.
- All pages must stay together in their proper order. Do not remove items and set them aside for later reference.
- Do not attempt to straighten archival material by bundling and "pounding" them on the desk like you would a stack of photocopies. After returning papers to their folder, take care they are not creased or folded when closing the folder.
- Nitrile or cotton gloves may be required for handling certain materials like photographs, negatives, or metal objects. Staff will tell you which materials require gloves and provide you with a pair.
- Do not remove archival photographs or negatives from their enclosures without the permission of the Special Collections staff.
- Book cradles may be required for some books to protect the fragile spines. Special Collections staff will provide support furniture when items require it. Do not remove or adjust materials in cradles, as this may permanently damage items.
- Do not press down on or crease the gutter of the book in an effort to keep it open; doing so can break the spine of an old or brittle book. Special Collections staff can provide weighted strings to hold open pages and demonstrate how to use them.
- Turn book pages from the top corners. Do not turn pages by licking fingers or by pushing or pinching pages. Special Collections staff can provide a microspatula to help you gently separate pages for turning.
- Report any damage to materials or uncut book pages.
