In 2023, I joined McFarlin Library as Associate Dean, stepping into a role that challenged and inspired me from the very beginning. I was drawn to The University of Tulsa by its strong sense of community, its commitment to research excellence, and a library with a legacy of supporting student success. From day one, I was welcomed by dedicated colleagues, inquisitive students, and faculty who care deeply about teaching and scholarship. I felt at home.
Now, as Dean of Libraries, I am committed to continuing this legacy.
I’ve spent my career in academic libraries because I believe in their power to transform lives and communities. Libraries are not static repositories—they are dynamic centers for learning, collaboration, and innovation. McFarlin exemplifies this spirit. From the quiet corners of our historic building to the vibrant energy of student-led research and faculty partnerships, our library is a vital part of what makes TU extraordinary.
In the time I’ve been here, I’ve had the opportunity to listen closely, work alongside incredible teams, and think about where McFarlin can go next. I’ve seen firsthand the impact of our instruction program, the strength of our collections, and the promise of our digital initiatives. I’ve also heard the call for new kinds of support, more inclusive spaces, and deeper community connections. I am committed to meeting those needs—with creativity, care, and a clear sense of purpose.
I look forward to continuing this journey alongside our TU community: listening, learning, and working together to ensure McFarlin Library remains a place of discovery, belonging, and possibility.
-- Jill Krefft, R. M. and Ida McFarlin Dean of the Library
The Department of Special Collections and University Archives contributes to the mission of the McFarlin Library at The University of Tulsa by supporting the curricular and research needs of our users, which include students, faculty, the local community, and scholars around the world.
The Department of Special Collections and University Archives maintains collections by acquiring, organizing, preserving, and providing access to unique and rare materials for research purposes, developing selected collections of local and international interest, and maintaining the institutional memory of the University. Special Collections seeks to preserve the physical integrity of its collections while maximizing its accessibility, which necessitates the careful planning, choosing, and handling of materials determined to be the best candidates for online digital retrieval for patron ease of use and access.
