Reading Room and Access Policies

The University of Tulsa McFarlin Library Department of Special Collections and University Archives is open to students, faculty, staff, and members of the public who create an Aeon account and request an appointment during our Reading Room hours.

This page provides our Reading Room guidelines for those interested in visiting the department. Please take time to review and familiarize yourself with these guidelines before your visit.

Special Collections Aeon account and requesting items

Before visiting McFarlin Special Collections, students, faculty, staff, researchers, and members of the general public must create an Aeon account. This account facilitates your access to rare books, manuscripts, and archives held in Special Collections. The account is free and requires an email address to create a username and password. If you do not have an email address, please call the department's front desk number at (918) 631-2496 and a staff member can assist you.

Once you've created an Aeon account, you can:

• Request an appointment time in our Reading Room.
• Request materials at least 2 days before your visit. 
• Submit requests for scans in accordance with copyright guidelines.
• Track the status of your requests.
• Access information about your past requests.
• Faculty can collaboratively select materials for class visits on consultation with Special Collections librarians.
• The University of Tulsa students, faculty, and staff can access their account using their UTulsa SSO credentials. All other researchers and non-UTulsa affiliates can register or login using the "Other Users" option.

Questions about your account? Ask Special Collections