LibGuides: Nursing: Articles

CINAHL - Introduction

What is CINAHL?

CINAHL is an acronym for Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature. It is one of the most significant sources for finding scholarly research articles in nursing and related fields, such as emergency services, dental hygiene, physician's assistant, athletic training, speech-language pathology, etc.

Click the links below for quick video introductions from EBSCOhost on searching the CINAHL database and using the EBSCOhost search interface.

CINAHL Plus with Full Text Basic Searching (4 min)
CINAHL Plus with Full Text Advanced Searching (4 min)
Using CINAHL and MeSH Headings (6 min)

Below are video introductions to other EBSCOhost health-science databases:

Consumer Health Complete (5 min)
MEDLINE with Full Text Searching (4 min)
Rehabilitation Reference Center (8 min)

Best Databases for locating articles in Nursing

CINAHL Complete
"CINAHL®Complete is the world's most comprehensive nursing & allied health research database, providing full text for more than 1,300 journals indexed in CINAHL®. Of those, 822 are not found with full text in any version of Academic Search™, Health Source® or Nursing & Allied Health Collection™. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index, with no embargo." -- EBSCO
Emcare
"Emcare, produced by Elsevier, covers all nursing specialties and nursing healthcare professions. Emcare includes international coverage of allied health, education and training, development and management, midwifery, health and healthcare economics, clinical medical and healthcare social work, psychiatry and mental health, and traumatology, emergency and critical-care medicine. Emcare includes unique content not found in other nursing and allied health databases and features more than a thousand journals not covered by Elsevier’s Embase database.
Emcare's precise indexing guarantees consistent retrieval of relevant records across the entire database. Underlying this indexing is the Emtree thesaurus, and Ovid offers multiple tools to take advantage of this indexing. Emcare covers all specialties of nursing, including:
- Addictions Nursing
- Coronary Care
- Flight Nursing
- Hospice and Palliative Care
- Neonatal Nursing
- Occupational Health
- Periperative Nursing
- Psychiatric Nursing
- School Health Nursing
- Urologic Nursing
- Burn Nursing
- Community and Mental Health
- Gastroenterology Nursing
- Gynaecologic Nursing
- HIV/AIDS Nursing
- Professional Home Nursing
- Medical-Surgical Nursing
- Obstetric Nursing
- Paediatric Nursing
- Respiratory Nursing
- Plastic Surgical Nursing
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
"Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Also featured are abstracts and indexing for nearly 850 journals. Coverage of nursing and allied health is particularly strong, including full text from Creative Nursing, Issues in Comprehensive Pediatric Nursing, Issues in Mental Health Nursing, Journal of Advanced Nursing, Journal of Child & Adolescent Psychiatric Nursing, Journal of Clinical Nursing, Journal of Community Health Nursing, Journal of Nursing Management, Nursing Ethics, Nursing Forum, Nursing Inquiry, and many more. In addition, this database includes Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names." -- EBSCO
UpToDate
"For more than 20 years, clinicians around the world have relied on UpToDate as their primary resource for medical knowledge at the point of care. The knowledge contained in UpToDate is evidence-based and continuously updated, but it is not merely an aggregation and report of the latest research; UpToDate presents a comprehensive synthesis of the evidence, followed by recommendations that can be acted on at the point of care. It combines an advanced publishing platform with the rigor of a sophisticated editorial process managed by a faculty of accomplished physician authors and editors, renowned leaders in their specialties." -- UpToDate website
IMPORTANT: To use UpToDate you must create a personal account by accessing the database through the above hyperlink. You can then use that account to access UpToDate from anywhere, including the mobile app. However, after 90 days you will be required to once again access UpToDate via the library website in order to validate your account for another 90 days.
NOTE: Includes Lexicomp
Case Files Collection
"The Case Files® Collection provides premier case content with the goal of improving learning outcomes through exposure to clinical cases. The Case Files® Collection features: The complete collection of basic science, clinical medicine, and post-graduate level cases from 23 Case Files® series books; An interactive format to help students learn and retain knowledge through exposure to realistic patient cases; Personalized functionality to let users mark their progress through completed and unseen cases." -- AccessMedicine website
The Access app is also available, optimized for use on tablets and phones:
- Download on the App Store
- Get it on Google Play
Cochrane Library
"The Cochrane Library is a collection of six databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making, and a seventh database that provides information about Cochrane groups." -- website
Entrez
"Entrez is the integrated, text-based search and retrieval system used at NCBI [National Center for Biotechnology Information of the National Library of Medicine] for the major databases, including PubMed, Nucleotide and Protein Sequences, Protein Structures, Complete Genomes, Taxonomy, and others." -- website
JAMA Network
"Building on a tradition of editorial excellence, The JAMA Network brings JAMA together with the 9 specialty Archives Journals to offer enhanced access to the research, reviews, and perspectives shaping the future of medicine. Through a variety of innovative tools, The JAMA Network provides the insights that matter most to medical research and practice. "-- Website
Through this resource, articles are available in JAMA from 1998 up to the current issue. Articles in the Archive Journals are available from 1998 up until about 12 months ago.
JSTOR Life Sciences Collection
"The Life Sciences Collection is JSTOR's largest collection, with over 5.5 million pages available today and scheduled to grow to more than seven million. At its completion, it will comprise a minimum of 160 titles spanning disciplines in the biological, health, and general sciences." -- JSTOR
Ovid Nursing Collection
Collection of over 80 full text nursing journals that may be either browsed or searched.
PubMed
"PubMed lets you search millions of journal citations and abstracts in the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and preclinical sciences. It includes access to MEDLINE® and to citations for selected articles in life science journals not included in MEDLINE. PubMed also provides access to additional relevant Web sites and links to the other NCBI molecular biology resources." -- National Library of Medicine
"PubMed is a free resource that is developed and maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information NCBI, at the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM), located at the National Institutes of Health (NIH)." -- NLM
PubMed Central
"PubMed Central is a free digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health (NIH), developed and managed by NIH's National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) in the National Library of Medicine (NLM). With PubMed Central, NLM has taken the lead in preserving and maintaining access to the electronic literature, just as it has done for decades with the printed biomedical literature. PubMed Central aims to fill the role of a world class library in the digital age. It is not a journal publisher. NLM believes that giving all users free access to the material in PubMed Central is the best way to ensure the durability and utility of the archive as technology changes over time." -- NLM

Finding McFarlin's Journals

To find out if McFarlin Library subscribes to a journal that published an article you need, always search the "Journal List", a database of the scholarly journals, popular magazines and newspapers that the library has both online and in print.

Search here to see if McFarlin subscribes to a journal you need:

Or browse through all of McFarlin's journals by title:

0-9 A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Your search results, if we have the journal you need, will look something like this:

More Databases for Nursing

Academic Search Complete
"Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 9,810 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc." -- EBSCO
AccessAnesthesiology
"AccessAnesthesiology from McGraw-Hill Medical offers a new approach to anesthesiology reference, research, and curricular instruction – all in one place. Updated regularly, this comprehensive online anesthesiology resource covers the entire spectrum of anesthesiology from the basics to specialty-specific content -– optimized for viewing on any device. AccessAnesthesiology provides unique benefits that deliver indispensable support in resident education and certification/recertification in pain management, critical care, and perioperative medicine – through these exclusive interactive features: leading anesthesiology textbooks, multimedia, interactive self-assessment, practice guidelines, an integrated drug database, and more than 100 patient cases." -- website
The Access app is also available, optimized for use on tablets and phones:
- Download on the App Store
- Get it on Google Play
AccessMedicine
"AccessMedicine from McGraw-Hill Medical is a comprehensive online medical resource that provides a complete spectrum of knowledge from the best minds in medicine, with essential information accessible anywhere. Authoritative, trusted, and continuously updated with optimized content for any mobile device, AccessMedicine is guided by a preeminent Advisory Board that includes the medical field’s top academic experts. AccessMedicine provides medical students with a variety of resources needed to excel in basic science studies and clerkships; helps residents, nurse practitioners, and physician assistants with instant access to videos, self-assessment, and leading medical textbooks that facilitate decision-making at the point-of-care; and allows practicing physicians to brush up on their medical knowledge to ensure the best patient outcome." -- AccessMedicine website
The Access app is also available, optimized for use on tablets and phones:
- Download on the App Store
- Get it on Google Play
Alt HealthWatch
"This alternative health research database focuses on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. Alt HealthWatch provides the latest information and materials for the evolving practice of holistic medicine and therapies, with in-depth coverage across the full spectrum of subject areas covered by complementary and alternative medicine." -- EBSCO
APA PsycINFO
"This database is published by the American Psychological Association and provides comprehensive indexing and abstracts of the international psychological literature from the 1800s to the present. Documents indexed include journals, articles, books, dissertations and more. 90% of the 3,000+ titles indexed in APA PsycINFO® are peer-reviewed." -- ProQuest
ClinicalTrials.gov
"ClinicalTrials.gov is a database of privately and publicly funded clinical studies conducted around the world. [It] is a resource provided by the U.S. National Library of Medicine." -- Website
Consumer Health Complete
"Consumer Health Complete™ (CHC) is the single most comprehensive resource for consumer-oriented health content. It is designed to support the information needs of patients, and to foster an overall understanding of health-related topics." -- EBSCO
CHC provides content covering all areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated medicine. This full-text database covers topics such as aging, cancer, diabetes, drugs & alcohol, fitness, nutrition & dietetics, children's health, men & women's health, etc.
CHC offers a unique search interface designed to call attention to the full text content available from many important source-types, and to provide an intuitive means for searching this specific information.
Information provided in this database should not be viewed as a means for self-diagnosis or a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis or treatment. -- EBSCO
Consumer Health Reference eBook Collection
"This ebook reference collection offers a rich selection of eBook titles covering a broad range of general health topics, including disease such as cancer and diabetes; weight management and exercise; allergies; senior care; social emotional health; developmental disorders; and natural health." -- EBSCO
Coronavirus Research Database
"Including coverage of the COVID-19 outbreak, this database curates openly available content related to coronaviruses. It includes thousands of open-access articles from the world’s leading publishers as well as current research from pre-print repositories such as arXiv and will continue to grow and evolve as more is learned about the pandemic." -- ProQuest
eHRAF World Cultures
"eHRAF World Cultures is an online cross-cultural and ethnographic database containing descriptive information on cultures (based on the Outline of World Cultures or OWC) and ethnic groups from around the world. Each culture collection in eHRAF contains a variety of documents (books, articles, monographs, and dissertations) that have been subject-indexed at the paragraph level by trained anthropologists according to HRAF’s comprehensive Outline of Cultural Materials (OCM). This feature extends search capability well beyond keyword searching, allowing for precise culture and subject retrieval, even in a foreign language. As an ethnographic database, eHRAF appeals to many academic disciplines in the social sciences, humanities, medicine, and any other area with an interest in cultural diversity." -- website
Health Source: Consumer Edition
"Health Source: Consumer Edition is a rich collection of consumer health information. This resource provides access to nearly 80 full text, consumer health magazines, including American Fitness, Better Nutrition, Fit Pregnancy, Harvard Health Letter, HealthFacts, Men's Health, Muscle & Fitness, Prevention, Vegetarian Times, and many others." -- EBSCO
"This database also includes searchable full text for more than 1,000 health-related pamphlets and more than 130 health reference books, including books published by the People's Medical Society. Additionally, Health Source: Consumer Edition contains more than 4,500 Clinical Reference Systems reports (in English and Spanish); Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names; and Merriam-Webster's Medical Desk Dictionary. Health Source: Consumer Edition covers topics such as AIDS, cancer, diabetes, drugs & alcohol, aging, fitness, nutrition & dietetics, children's health, women's health, etc."
Health, United States
Health, United States presents national trends in health statistics on such topics as birth and death rates, infant mortality, life expectancy, morbidity and health status, risk factors, use of ambulatory and inpatient care, health personnel and facilities, financing of health care, health insurance and managed care, and other health topics. The report includes a chartbook and trend tables that may be viewed and printed using Adobe Acrobat. Trend tables are also available as downloadable spreadsheet files for data manipulation or graphical analysis. Data trends may be more complete in spreadsheet files than in pdf files." -- Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
Joanna Briggs Institute EBP Database
"This comprehensive database covers a wide range of medical, nursing, and health science specialties and includes a unique suite of information that’s been analyzed, appraised, and prepared by expert reviewers at JBI so you and your team can integrate the world’s best evidence into your practice." -- Ovid
National Center for Health Statistics
"The mission of the National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS) is to provide statistical information that will guide actions and policies to improve the health of the American people. As the Nation's principal health statistics agency, NCHS leads the way with accurate, relevant, and timely data." -- website
Nexis Uni
"Nexis Uni features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources, including print and online journals, television and radio broadcasts, newswires and blogs; local, regional, national and international newspapers with deep archives; extensive legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1790; unparalleled business information on more than 80 million U.S. and international companies and more than 75 million executives." -- LexisNexis
SPORTDiscus with Full Text
"SPORTDiscus™ with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive source of full text for sports & sports medicine journals, providing full text for more than 490 journals indexed in SPORTDiscus. Of those, 337 are not found with full text in any version of Academic Search™ or Health Source®." -- EBSCO
"This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the SPORTDiscus index - with no embargo. With full-text coverage dating back to 1985, SPORTDiscus with Full Text is the definitive research tool for all areas of sports & sports medicine literature." -- EBSCO

Nursing: Articles

Why are journal articles so important?

CINAHL - Introduction

Best Databases for locating articles in Nursing

Finding McFarlin's Journals

More Databases for Nursing

Acceptable Use of Electronic Resources