LibGuides: Chemistry & Biochemistry: Articles

Best Databases for locating articles in the Chemical Sciences

American Chemical Society (ACS) Publications
"The Publications Division of the American Chemical Society provides the worldwide scientific community with a comprehensive collection of the most cited peer-reviewed journals in the chemical and related sciences. In addition to 34 research journals, the society also publishes the premier weekly newsmagazine of the chemical enterprise, Chemical & Engineering News. With the ACS Journal Archives, ACS Publications provides searchable access to over 130 years of original research in chemistry, including more than 750,000 articles dating back to the inaugural volume of the Journal of the American Chemical Society in 1879." -- ACS
"The peer-reviewed journals of ACS publish cutting-edge articles across a broad spectrum of scientific disciplines—agricultural science, biotechnology, analytical chemistry, applied chemistry, biochemistry & molecular biology, chemical biology, chemical engineering, computer science, crystallography, energy & fuels, food science, environmental science, inorganic & nuclear chemistry, material science, medicinal chemistry, organic chemistry, pharmacology, physical chemistry, plant sciences, polymer science, and toxicology. The breadth and scope of ACS Journals is unparalleled." -- ACS website
CAS Analytical Methods
"CAS Analytical Methods makes it simple to locate, compare, and understand analytical methods published in top journals. CAS Analytical Methods addresses the challenges that analytical scientists face such as time pressure, lack of process, lack of method details in literature and limited resources. With this solution it is easy to browse and find methods that may have not existed in or are buried in primary literature." -- CAS
CAS Analytical Methods is part of the CAS SciFinder Discovery Platform. If you do not already have a SciFindern account, you will need to create one here. The account is free.
CAS Formulus
"The CAS Formulations collection is indexed by a team of scientists from a variety of patent and journal literature sources, as well as product insert databases. Literature originally published in Chinese, English, French, German, Japanese, and Korean is curated and made searchable. Formulation results are grouped by “similarity” to reduce the number of results within an answer set. Similarity is determined by attributes such as intended use of the product, specific features of the product, and/or the physical form of the product. CAS curates formulations from journals, patents, and product inserts in the pharmaceutical, agrochemical, and cosmetics and personal care industries." -- CAS
CAS Formulus is part of the CAS SciFinder Discovery Platform. If you do not already have a SciFindern account, you will need to create one here. The account is free.
CAS SciFinder Discovery Platform
SciFinder is currently unavailable. We are working to restore access.
"Accelerate game-changing discoveries with best-in-class solutions that simplify how you find and connect critical information, such as scientific data, methods, formulations, and more—human-curated for quality and completeness. Powering the CAS SciFinder Discovery Platform is a team of hundreds of scientific experts that read every article and patent in the CAS Content Collection and extract the critical information scientists care about. Through their work, we ensure that your search for a specific concept, method, formulation, or molecule returns the most relevant references for your needs. But more than a relevance search engine, the interface is carefully designed to enable you to make novel connections between disparate pieces of information, driving insight and speeding innovation." -- CAS
The CAS SciFinder Discovery Platform incorporates the following resources:
The CAS SciFinder Discovery Platform requires that you have a personal SciFinder account. If you don't already have one, create one here. The account is free.
ChemZent
ChemZent is the first English version of the world's oldest chemical journal, Chemisches Zentralblatt and includes 800,000 documents and 3 million abstracts published between 1830 and 1969. It is integrated with SciFindern.
ChemZent is part of the CAS SciFinder Discovery Platform. If you do not already have a SciFindern account, you will need to create one here. The account is free.
NCBI Databases
The National Center for Biotechnology Information advances science and health by providing access to biomedical and genomic information in a number of public access databases. Topics you may research using these resources include nucleotide and protein sequences, protein and chemical structures, genomes, taxonomy, etc.
PubChem
"PubChem is the world's largest collection of freely accessible chemical information. Search chemicals by name, molecular formula, structure, and other identifiers. Find chemical and physical properties, biological activities, safety and toxicity information, patents, literature citations and more." -- NLM
ScienceDirect
ScienceDirect is a major scientific database offering access to a large number peer-reviewed journal articles. It is part of Elsevier, the world's largest scientific, technical and medical publisher.
SciFindern
SciFinder is currently unavailable. We are working to restore access.
CAS SciFindern is the latest scientific information solution from CAS, a division of the American Chemical Society. In addition to the reference, substance, reaction and supplier content found in CAS SciFinder®, CAS SciFindern includes relevance-ranked results, step-by-step procedures and protocols, citation mapping, sequence searching, retrosynthetic analysis, patent landscape mapping, touch-screen enabled structure drawing and much more—all accessible in a simple, easy-to-use interface. SciFindern now includes both ChemZent (over 3 million abstracts from Chemisches Zentralblatt) and PatentPak (full-text patent documents in PDF). It is also designed to function easily on mobile devices.
SciFindern is part of the CAS SciFinder Discovery Platform. If you do not already have a SciFindern account, you will need to create one here. The account is free.
Scopus
"Scopus covers more than 24,000 peer-reviewed journals in science, technology, medicine and social sciences from over 5,000 international publishers." Scopus includes "coverage of: Open Access journals, Conference Proceedings, Trade Publications and Book Series." -- Elsevier

Finding McFarlin's Journals

To find out if McFarlin Library subscribes to a journal that published an article you need, always search the "Journal List", a database of the scholarly journals, popular magazines and newspapers that the library has both online and in print.

Search here to see if McFarlin subscribes to a journal you need:

Or browse through all of McFarlin's journals by title:

0-9 A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Your search results, if we have the journal you need, will look something like this:

More Databases for the Chemical Sciences

Academic Search Complete
"Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 9,810 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc." -- EBSCO
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics
The CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics provides you with quick access to authoritative information relating to terminology, symbols, constants, properties and other data for elements, compounds, fluids, solids, gases, metals and more.
Electrochemical Society Digital Library
"The Digital Library (DL) provides searchable online access to the various journals, books, and other collections published by The Electrochemical Society. . . . The Electrochemical Society (ECS) is an 8,000-member organization of scientists and engineers in over 70 countries worldwide. The Society has a long tradition in advancing the theory and practice of electrochemical and solid state science by dissemination of information through its publications and international meetings." -- ECS website
JSTOR Life Sciences Collection
"The Life Sciences Collection is JSTOR's largest collection, with over 5.5 million pages available today and scheduled to grow to more than seven million. At its completion, it will comprise a minimum of 160 titles spanning disciplines in the biological, health, and general sciences." -- JSTOR
Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology
Written by prominent scholars from industry, academia, and research institutions, the Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology presents a wide scope of articles on chemical substances—including their properties, manufacturing, and uses. It also focuses on industrial processes and unit operations in chemical engineering, as well as covering fundamentals and scientific subjects related to the field. Additionally, environmental and health issues concerning chemical technology are also addressed.
NOTE: The Library only has access to the 2008 edition. Articles from later editions may not be available.
Nexis Uni
"Nexis Uni features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources, including print and online journals, television and radio broadcasts, newswires and blogs; local, regional, national and international newspapers with deep archives; extensive legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1790; unparalleled business information on more than 80 million U.S. and international companies and more than 75 million executives." -- LexisNexis
PubMed
"PubMed lets you search millions of journal citations and abstracts in the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and preclinical sciences. It includes access to MEDLINE® and to citations for selected articles in life science journals not included in MEDLINE. PubMed also provides access to additional relevant Web sites and links to the other NCBI molecular biology resources." -- National Library of Medicine
"PubMed is a free resource that is developed and maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information NCBI, at the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM), located at the National Institutes of Health (NIH)." -- NLM
PubMed Central
"PubMed Central is a free digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health (NIH), developed and managed by NIH's National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) in the National Library of Medicine (NLM). With PubMed Central, NLM has taken the lead in preserving and maintaining access to the electronic literature, just as it has done for decades with the printed biomedical literature. PubMed Central aims to fill the role of a world class library in the digital age. It is not a journal publisher. NLM believes that giving all users free access to the material in PubMed Central is the best way to ensure the durability and utility of the archive as technology changes over time." -- NLM
Royal Society of Chemistry Journals
"Journals from the RSC are recognised as the fastest in the field, some papers having been published within a day of receipt, including full peer review and editing. This is made possible by a dedicated, professional staff, and truly innovative electronic workflow systems." -- RSC website
SciFindern
SciFinder is currently unavailable. We are working to restore access.
CAS SciFindern is the latest scientific information solution from CAS, a division of the American Chemical Society. In addition to the reference, substance, reaction and supplier content found in CAS SciFinder®, CAS SciFindern includes relevance-ranked results, step-by-step procedures and protocols, citation mapping, sequence searching, retrosynthetic analysis, patent landscape mapping, touch-screen enabled structure drawing and much more—all accessible in a simple, easy-to-use interface. SciFindern now includes both ChemZent (over 3 million abstracts from Chemisches Zentralblatt) and PatentPak (full-text patent documents in PDF). It is also designed to function easily on mobile devices.
SciFindern is part of the CAS SciFinder Discovery Platform. If you do not already have a SciFindern account, you will need to create one here. The account is free.

Chemistry & Biochemistry: Articles

Why are journal articles so important?

Best Databases for locating articles in the Chemical Sciences

Finding McFarlin's Journals

More Databases for the Chemical Sciences

Acceptable Use of Electronic Resources