Chemical Engineering: Home

Identify and Develop a Topic

Selecting a research topic is much like deciding on a travel destination. Once you have narrowed your ideas to an interesting subject, write down a brief statement about this topic. For example: "Rock groups of the 60s, their popularity and major influence on the music industry."  Once the topic is selected, write down specific questions that you'll want to answer. The research process will drive your destination. Your original topic may develop into something entirely different. You may choose to follow an alternate path and go down a different road.

Find Background Information

After determining the topic, you can map out your route. You must identify the types of sources that will provide the information needed, then determine where to find these sources. Types of sources that should be considered include books, periodicals, the Internet, and other libraries (through interlibrary loan).

The key to finding books is the online library catalog called Discovery.  Search in Discovery by selecting a keyword that best describes your topic. You can also search by title, author, subject, or keyword. In addition to books, the catalog allows you to search for periodicals, government documents, audiovisual material, and Special Collections.   

 If you get lost during your sight-seeing trip, stop and ask directions. The following reference sources will be most useful to acquire quick answers to any questions you may have.

•  Begin with Encyclopedias, then to get off the main drag, use Subject Encyclopedias.

•  What does it mean?  Use a Dictionary.       

•  How much, how many?  Find Statistical Information.

•  Who?  Find Biographical Information.

•  How can I get in touch?  Use a Directory.

•  Where do I go from here?  Bibliographies.

Find Journal Articles

Periodicals include newspapers, magazines, and journals. They are published regularly, daily, weekly, monthly, quarterly. Journals are periodicals containing articles written by experts in a particular field of study. If the researcher wrote the article, is it a primary source. If reporters write the article, such as in popular magazines, it is a secondary source. Typically, journal articles contain extensive bibliographies that lead to additional sources.

Journal List - If there is a specific journal that you are looking for, this will take you directly to McFarlin's holdings.

Discovery - If there is a specific article that you are looking for, you can search Summon with that article's title.

Database List - If you don't have a specific journal or article in mind, then McFarlin's databases will allow you to search multiple journals with a keyword.

Technical Writing

The ability to write clear and precise technical reports to a broad audience is a fundamental skill that Chemical Engineers develop while completing their undergraduate degrees. Engineers are often tapped to write, help write, or work with editors and technical writers to produce reference, product, marketing, and educational materials, including technical articles, press releases, instructions, datasheets, reports, manuals, proposals, emails, newsletters, blog posts, web page content, white papers, books, and presentations.

It is important for engineers to write and edit publications skillfully, quickly, and correctly. Clear, concise, and persuasive prose could prevent a safety incident, make a project proceed more efficiently, convince others of the merits of your ideas, reduce calls to customer support, and improve user satisfaction.

Technical writing is comprised of several sections, discussed below.

Title and Author Information:

The title of your paper and any needed information about yourself (usually your name and institution).

Abstract:

A short (usually around 250-400 words) description of the paper. Should include what the purpose of the paper is (including the basic research question/problem), the basic design of your project, and the major findings.

Introduction:

A general introduction to your topic and what you expect to learn from your project or experiment. Your research question should be found here.

Literature Review:

An analysis of what has already been published about your chosen topic. Should be able to show how your research question fits into the context of your field.

Methods:

A description of everything you did in your experiment or project, step-by-step. Needs to be detailed enough so that any reader would be able to repeat each step exactly on their own.

Results:

What actually happened during your project or what you found at the end of your experiment. This is usually the best part to include the majority of your graphs, photos, tables, and other visual aids, as long as they help explain the results of your work.

Discussion:

An analysis of the results that integrates what you found into the wider body of research in your field. Can also include future hypotheses to be tested or future projects to build from your own.

Conclusion:

Can be included in the discussion if necessary. A final summary of the paper, including whether or not you were able to answer your original research question.

References and Appendices:

The reference page(s) is a list of all the sources you used to research and create your project/experiment, including everything cited in the literature review and methods sections. Remember to use the same citation style throughout the paper. An appendix would include any additional information about your work that you were not able to include within the body of your paper (like large datasets and figures) that would help readers better understand your results.