LibGuides: Business: Articles

Best Databases for locating articles in Business

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
"Business Source Complete is the world's definitive scholarly business database, providing the leading collection of bibliographic and full text content. As part of the comprehensive coverage offered by this database, indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back as far as 1886 are included. In addition to the searchable cited references provided for more than 1,300 journals, Business Source Complete contains detailed author profiles for the 40,000 most-cited authors in the database. Journal ranking studies reveal that Business Source Complete is the overwhelmingly superior database for full text journals in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics." Additional full text content includes:
JSTOR Business Collections This link opens in a new window
"With a minimum of 50 titles, the Business IV Collection builds on the strong economics and business foundation of the Business I, II, and III Collections. Business IV increases JSTOR's coverage in core fields such as economics, management, industrial relations, and finance, with a broad international scope. The collection will also contain prominent titles in microeconomics (especially behavioral, labor, health, urban, and development economics) and management (including supply chain management and decision science)." -- JSTOR
ProQuest One Business This link opens in a new window
"Designed to help business researchers balance theoretical and practical learning, and acquire the research skills that will make them successful in their courses and careers, ProQuest One Business is a complete business library containing millions of full-text items across scholarly and popular periodicals, newspapers, market research reports, dissertations, books, videos and more." -- ProQuest
EDGAR SEC Filings & Forms This link opens in a new window
EDGAR (Electronic Data Gathering, Analysis, and Retrieval system) is a database of forms filed by public companies with the Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC). It is a valuable source of information on individual companies that is both very current and detailed.
Not all forms for each company may be available on EDGAR. The SEC notes that some documents are still not filed electronically while others may be placed on EDGAR only at the discretion of the filer. Filings from foreign companies are also not required to be filed on EDGAR, though some are. Finally, companies do not have to submit their annual report to shareholders to EDGAR, with the exception of investment companies. Fortunately, Form 10-K or Form 10-KSB is required to be filed on EDGAR and contains most of the same information as the shareholder report.
FRASER This link opens in a new window
"The Federal Reserve Archival System for Economic Research (FRASER) began as a data preservation and accessibility project of the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis in 2004. FRASER’s mission is to safeguard and provide easy access to economic history—particularly the history of the Federal Reserve System. FRASER is both a digital library of economic history and a repository of the institutional history of the Federal Reserve System. As such, FRASER preserves and provides access to economic and banking data and policy documents. Refer to this list of highlighted content." -- Federal Reserve
"FRASER staff strive to digitize complete collections of documents. Documents digitized for FRASER have been processed by optical character recognition (OCR) software to provide machine-readable text and to assist in full-text searching. The resulting text or data are kept as they are and are not corrected or modified in any way. Therefore, users should check any text or data copied directly from a PDF for inaccuracies." -- Federal Reserve
Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
"This state-of-the-art product provides Internet-based access to the most detailed, accurate and comprehensive global company database available, with the latest in features and functions. Rich textual descriptions - the hallmark of all Mergent publications - offer a wealth of detail on items including business description, history, property, subsidiaries, officers and directors, long-term debt and capital stock. Financial statements are presented in 'as-reported' form and in native currencies, maintaining the full integrity of this critical information." -- Mergent
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
"Nexis Uni features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources, including print and online journals, television and radio broadcasts, newswires and blogs; local, regional, national and international newspapers with deep archives; extensive legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1790; unparalleled business information on more than 80 million U.S. and international companies and more than 75 million executives." -- LexisNexis
Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage This link opens in a new window
"Standard & Poor’s NetAdvantage is a comprehensive source of business and investment information, offering on-line access to Standard & Poor’s independent research, data and commentary on stocks, bonds, funds, and industries." -- S&P
NetAdvantage provides access to these popular S&P research products:
- Industry Surveys
- Stock Reports
- Mutual Fund Reports
- Bond Reports
- Corporation Records
- Register of Corporations
- Directors and Executives
- Outlook
USA Trade Online This link opens in a new window
"Provided by the U.S. Census Bureau, USA Trade Online is a dynamic data tool that gives users access to current and cumulative U.S. export and import data. With multiple data sets and capabilities, USA Trade Online can assist different types of customers from a wide range of industries and fields. Manufacturers and other businesses wishing to expand their business globally can utilize USA Trade Online to identify new markets, evaluate existing markets, and perform other market research tasks. The data available through this tool can also support economists in interpreting economic news and performing academic research, as well assist governments and federal agencies in analyzing domestic and international trade policies." -- Census Bureau

Finding McFarlin's Journals

To find out if McFarlin Library subscribes to a journal that published an article you need, always search the "Journal List", a database of the scholarly journals, popular magazines and newspapers that the library has both online and in print.

Search here to see if McFarlin subscribes to a journal you need:

Or browse through all of McFarlin's journals by title:

0-9 A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Your search results, if we have the journal you need, will look something like this:

More Databases for Business

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
"Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 9,810 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc." -- EBSCO
Corporate Reports Online This link opens in a new window
"This site contains facsimiles of corporate annual reports [some dating back to the 19th century] from the Lippincott Library collection. The reports are in Adobe Portable Document Format (PDF) and can be read in Acrobat Reader 3.0, which is available for download free of charge. The complete text of the reports may be searched using the Library's PDF search engine." -- website
JSTOR Sustainability This link opens in a new window
"Explore journals, e-books and research reports on environmental stresses and their impact on society. Research spans the Biological Sciences, Business & Economics, Ecology, Environmental Sciences, Law, Public Health, Urban Studies, and many other disciplines." -- JSTOR
Mergent Intellect This link opens in a new window
"Mergent Intellect is a highly flexible web-based application that features a deep collection of worldwide business information that enables companies to generate insightful business intelligence. Coupling Mergent's expertise in developing products for the reference marketplace with D&B®'s private company database, Mergent Intellect offers new and existing clients a unique opportunity to access private and public U.S and international business data, industry news, facts and figures, executive contact information, the ability to access industry profiles and much more -- Mergent
"Additionally, through Mergent’s partnership with Whitepages Pro, clients now have immediate access to contact information for over 250 million U.S. consumers. This enhanced search tool features specific information - name, address, previous address, age, number of household members and reverse phone number lookup capabilities - another valuable source of business insight." -- Mergent
New York Times This link opens in a new window
Whether you’re writing a paper or planning for the weekend ahead, discover original, quality journalism that helps you understand the world — and make the most of every part of life — with The New York Times, often called the nation's "newspaper of record".
To access The New York Times you will need to create a FREE account while you're on the TU campus: accessnyt.com. Once you've created your account, you'll be able to access it from anywhere in the world. You may also download The New York Times mobile app and sign in on that. Once activated, a faculty account is valid for 1456 days and can be easily renewed simply by re-entering the email address at accessnyt.com. A student account is valid until graduation.
Regional Business News Plus This link opens in a new window
"This authoritative database provides extensive coverage for full-text regional business publications, on a regional level, for the United States and Canadian provinces. With this resource, scholars and academic researchers can access essential newspapers, radio and TV news transcripts, trade publications, magazines, newswires and videos." -- EBSCO
Access to this database is through the Oklahoma Digital Prairie, and is funded with state and federal funds by the Oklahoma Department of Libraries. Federal funds are provided by the Institute of Museum and Library Services.
Small Business Source This link opens in a new window
Small Business Source "provides up to date information on relevant topics from starting a company, operations management and sales to growing or rescuing a business. The database contains nearly 400 full-text periodicals and over 450 full-text reference books. The user-friendly interface guides through small business and entrepreneurial subject areas, common business types, a help and advice section, and provides information on how to create business plans that lead to successful funding. Business videos provide critical information for business owners: Interviews, ‘lessons learned’ features, lectures and ‘how to’ videos help foster success in all aspects of managing a business. A collection of state-specific resources supports the researcher with demographic data and other local information." -- EBSCO
Trademark Search from USPTO This link opens in a new window
This database, provided by the United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO), provides information on every trademark that has been registered or applied for.
ValueLine Investment Survey This link opens in a new window
"The Value Line Investment Survey is one of the most widely used independent investment information services in the world. Its up-to-date, weekly issues are also a comprehensive reference that has something useful for virtually every investor. In breadth of coverage it is encyclopedic, covering some 1,700 equity issues. -- website
"The Value Line Investment Survey, however, provides more than just descriptive information. For each stock in its universe it offers year-ahead and three- to five-year probable relative price performance, projections of key financial measures, and concise, objective commentary on current operations and future prospects." -- website

Business: Articles

Why are journal articles so important?

Best Databases for locating articles in Business

Finding McFarlin's Journals

More Databases for Business

Acceptable Use of Electronic Resources