"This database offers full-text articles for journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association and Hogrefe & Huber. The database includes all material from the print journals. Many titles go back to volume 1, issue 1." -- ProQuest
"Business Source Complete is the world's definitive scholarly business database, providing the leading collection of bibliographic and full text content. As part of the comprehensive coverage offered by this database, indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back as far as 1886 are included. In addition to the searchable cited references provided for more than 1,300 journals, Business Source Complete contains detailed author profiles for the 40,000 most-cited authors in the database. Journal ranking studies reveal that Business Source Complete is the overwhelmingly superior database for full text journals in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics." Additional full text content includes:
"EconPapers provides access to RePEc, the world's largest collection of on-line Economics working papers, journal articles and software. ... The majority of the full text files are freely available, but some (typically journal articles) require that you or your organization subscribe to the service providing the full text file. -- EconPapers website
"RePEc is a distributed data set residing in over 400 archives operated by research organizations, academic departments and publishers. EconPapers would not be possible without the effort of the maintainers of these archives." -- EconPapers website
"eHRAF World Cultures is an online cross-cultural and ethnographic database containing descriptive information on cultures (based on the Outline of World Cultures or OWC) and ethnic groups from around the world. Each culture collection in eHRAF contains a variety of documents (books, articles, monographs, and dissertations) that have been subject-indexed at the paragraph level by trained anthropologists according to HRAF’s comprehensive Outline of Cultural Materials (OCM). This feature extends search capability well beyond keyword searching, allowing for precise culture and subject retrieval, even in a foreign language. As an ethnographic database, eHRAF appeals to many academic disciplines in the social sciences, humanities, medicine, and any other area with an interest in cultural diversity." -- website
JSTOR provides image and full-text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, demography, mathematics and other fields of the humanities and social sciences. This database is valuable because "the complete backfiles of these core scholarly journals have been digitized, starting with the very first issues, many of which date from the 1800s. Over 4 million pages are now available. New titles and fields are being added constantly. Issues of journals are never "out"; they are always accessible, and in pristine condition." Consult the online tables of contents for holdings, as coverage varies for each title.
"With a minimum of 50 titles, the Business IV Collection builds on the strong economics and business foundation of the Business I, II, and III Collections. Business IV increases JSTOR's coverage in core fields such as economics, management, industrial relations, and finance, with a broad international scope. The collection will also contain prominent titles in microeconomics (especially behavioral, labor, health, urban, and development economics) and management (including supply chain management and decision science)." -- JSTOR
"Designed to help business researchers balance theoretical and practical learning, and acquire the research skills that will make them successful in their courses and careers, ProQuest One Business is a complete business library containing millions of full-text items across scholarly and popular periodicals, newspapers, market research reports, dissertations, books, videos and more." -- ProQuest
"SocINDEX with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive and highest quality sociology research database. Its extensive scope and content provide users with a wealth of extremely useful information encompassing the broad spectrum of sociological study. The database features more than 2,066,400 records with subject headings from a 19,750+ term sociological thesaurus designed by subject experts and expert lexicographers. This product also contains informative abstracts for more than 1,200 "core" coverage journals dating as far back as 1895." -- EBSCO
"In addition, this file provides data mined from more than 510 "priority" coverage journals as well as from over 2,920 "selective" coverage journals. Extensive indexing for books/monographs, conference papers, and other non-periodical content sources is included. Searchable cited references are also provided. SocINDEX with Full Text offers comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. These include abortion, criminology & criminal justice, demography, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, rural & urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse & other addictions, violence and many others. In addition, SocINDEX with Full Text features over 25,000 Author Profiles covering the most prolific, most cited, and most frequently searched for authors in the database. Each author profile includes biographical data and bibliographic information, which together allow users to quickly ascertain an author's areas of expertise and academic/professional focus. All author profiles are updated on a routine basis as new information about each author becomes available. Moreover, profiles continue to be added for additional authors within the database on an ongoing basis. SocINDEX with Full Text contains full text for 777 journals dating back to 1908. This database also includes full text for more than 820 books and monographs, and full text for 13,947 conference papers." -- EBSCO
Finding McFarlin's Journals
To find out if McFarlin Library subscribes to a journal that published an article you need, always search the "Journal List", a database of the scholarly journals, popular magazines and newspapers that the library has both online and in print.
Search here to see if McFarlin subscribes to a journal you need:
Or browse through all of McFarlin's journals by title:
"Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 9,810 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc." -- EBSCO
"This database is published by the American Psychological Association and provides comprehensive indexing and abstracts of the international psychological literature from the 1800s to the present. Documents indexed include journals, articles, books, dissertations and more. 90% of the 3,000+ titles indexed in APA PsycINFO® are peer-reviewed." -- ProQuest
"BEOS contains clear, concise, expert definitions and explanations of the key concepts, entries ranging from short definitions of key terms to extended explorations of major topics, both classical sociology and contemporary developments in the field, and introductions to sociological theories and research that have developed outside of the United States and Western Europe." -- website
"This site contains facsimiles of corporate annual reports [some dating back to the 19th century] from the Lippincott Library collection. The reports are in Adobe Portable Document Format (PDF) and can be read in Acrobat Reader 3.0, which is available for download free of charge. The complete text of the reports may be searched using the Library's PDF search engine." -- website
"Available from April 1995 forward, this monthly publication is prepared by the Council of Economic Advisers for the Joint Economic Committee. It provides economic information on gross domestic product, income, employment, production, business activity, prices, money, credit, security markets, Federal finance, and international statistics." -- GPO
EDGAR (Electronic Data Gathering, Analysis, and Retrieval system) is a database of forms filed by public companies with the Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC). It is a valuable source of information on individual companies that is both very current and detailed.
Not all forms for each company may be available on EDGAR. The SEC notes that some documents are still not filed electronically while others may be placed on EDGAR only at the discretion of the filer. Filings from foreign companies are also not required to be filed on EDGAR, though some are. Finally, companies do not have to submit their annual report to shareholders to EDGAR, with the exception of investment companies. Fortunately, Form 10-K or Form 10-KSB is required to be filed on EDGAR and contains most of the same information as the shareholder report.
"The Federal Reserve Archival System for Economic Research (FRASER) began as a data preservation and accessibility project of the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis in 2004. FRASER’s mission is to safeguard and provide easy access to economic history—particularly the history of the Federal Reserve System. FRASER is both a digital library of economic history and a repository of the institutional history of the Federal Reserve System. As such, FRASER preserves and provides access to economic and banking data and policy documents. Refer to this list of highlighted content." -- Federal Reserve
"FRASER staff strive to digitize complete collections of documents. Documents digitized for FRASER have been processed by optical character recognition (OCR) software to provide machine-readable text and to assist in full-text searching. The resulting text or data are kept as they are and are not corrected or modified in any way. Therefore, users should check any text or data copied directly from a PDF for inaccuracies." -- Federal Reserve
"Nexis Uni features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources, including print and online journals, television and radio broadcasts, newswires and blogs; local, regional, national and international newspapers with deep archives; extensive legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1790; unparalleled business information on more than 80 million U.S. and international companies and more than 75 million executives." -- LexisNexis
Acceptable Use of Electronic Resources
IMPORTANT NOTICE: Systematic downloading of the licensed and copyrighted content of McFarlin Library's electronic resources, such as the use of scripted searches, download accelerators or web robots (i.e., "bots") of any kind, is STRICTLY PROHIBITED. You should download only the content you require for your immediate research needs or course assignment. For more information, please see McFarlin Library's Acceptable Use of Electronic Resources.
