Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
McFarlin Logo
Library Hours (Complete list of hours)
Monday - Thursday 9:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Friday 9:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Saturday Closed
Sunday Closed

Get Help

Library Orientation for BUS 1001: Find Articles

Journal Articles

Journal articles will probably be one of the most important information sources that you will use when doing research for classes at TU.  The most recent research in almost every discipline is published in journals.  Such articles are regarded as being very trustworthy and authoritative, not only because they are usually written by the researchers themselves, but also because they go through a process called peer review

Peer review means that before the article is accepted for publication in the journal it is carefully reviewed or screened by a panel of experts in the field (the author's peers).  These experts examine the article carefully, making certain that the research was properly done, that the methodology was sound, and that the author's conclusions were based on the results of the research.  Only after the experts determine that the research is good and properly done will the article be published.  As a researcher, this gives you confidence that information in the article is reliable.

A journal article is thus fundamentally different from an article published in a newspaper, magazine or website.  To learn more, check out our information on popular vs. scholarly.

Finding Journal Articles in the Library Databases

Many of the libary's research databases are designed specifically to help you locate articles published in the journal literature.

To get to the databases, go to the library's A-Z Databases page.

This will open the page giving you access to all the library databases. You will find four ways to access the databases.

 A-Z database list

  1. Search for a specific database by title, when you know exactly which one you need.
  2. Browse through databases by title.
  3. Select a subject-oriented list that will identify specific databases suited for research in a particular subject area.

Acceptable Use of Electronic Resources

IMPORTANT NOTICE: Systematic downloading of the licensed and copyrighted content of McFarlin Library's electronic resources, such as the use of scripted searches, download accelerators or web robots (i.e., "bots") of any kind, is STRICTLY PROHIBITED. You should download only the content you require for your immediate research needs or course assignment. For more information, please see McFarlin Library's Acceptable Use of Electronic Resources.

Library Databases

IMPORTANT!

The license agreements between McFarlin Library and the private companies that produce our online resources require the library to limit off campus access to current TU students and faculty/staff.  This means that when accessing library resources from off campus (including databases, electronic journals and electronic books) you will need to go into the resource either through the library's website, the catalog or a LibGuide.

When you click on the link for the resource, you will be prompted to enter your name and TU ID number. This verifies that you are a member of the TU community and therefore allowed to use the resource.

If you have any problems or questions, please feel free to Ask A Librarian.