LibGuides: Library Orientation for BUS 1001: Find Books

Library Hours (Complete list of hours)
Monday - Thursday	9:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Friday	9:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Saturday	Closed
Sunday	Closed

Look for More Books

Can't find what you need at McFarlin? Use these resources to locate books that may be available online or from other libraries. If you find a book you want:

Check Encore to be sure McFarlin doesn't have it
Then go to the Interlibrary Loan Department and request a copy

WorldCat (OCLC FirstSearch)
Potentially the most valuable resource in FirstSearch, WorldCat contains all the records cataloged by OCLC member libraries, making it the largest database of library holdings in the world. More than 290,000,000 bibliographic records, representing more than 2,000,000,000 holdings from over 72,000 libraries in 170 countries with materials in over 470 languages, make up the database. It includes not only books, but also software, manuscripts, films, slides, music scores, newspapers, journals, videorecordings, magazines, and more.

Open WorldCat
"The University of Tulsa is dedicated to offering you access to the widest possible range of resources. You are now able to search our collection and the collections of many other libraries worldwide using WorldCat, the world's largest network of library-based content and services." -- Open WorldCat website

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global
"ProQuest Dissertations and Theses: Global (PQDTGlobal) is the world's most comprehensive collection of full-text dissertations and theses. As the official digital dissertations archive for the Library of Congress and as the database of record for graduate research, PQDTGlobal includes millions of searchable citations to dissertations and theses from 1861 to the present day together with over a million full-text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. Over 2.1 million titles are available for purchase as printed copies. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full-text coverage for older graduate works. It also includes PQDT UK & Ireland content." -- ProQuest

Tulsa City-County Library
Tulsa City-County Library System is the primary information and resource center for the Tulsa, Oklahoma, metropolitan area. More than 1.7 million volumes and numerous library services are available to the public. Services range from Internet access and on-line databases, to adult literacy tutoring and children's reading programs. The Central Library, four regional libraries, and 19 branch libraries in Tulsa County serve over 308,000 library cardholders who check out more than 3.7 million books and materials each year.

TU Catalog Quick Search

Search the library catalog using Encore for print books, ebooks, DVDs, and other materials you need.

Where are the Books?

Most of the circulating books (those you can check out and take home with your) are located on the Main Level and the south and west sides of the Intermediate Level in McFarlin Library's west wing. This area is known as the bookstacks or stacks.

Libraries use classification systems to organize the books and DVDs on the shelves. Most public libraries (for example, the Tulsa City-County Library system) use the Dewey Decimal Classification System (DDC) and most academic libraries (including the TU Libraries) use the Library of Congress Classification System (LC).

You may be more familiar with the Dewey Decimal system which uses only numbers to arrange materials on the shelves. The LC system uses a combination of letters and numbers.

These classification systems allow each book and DVD in the library to be assigned a unique call number. A call number is like an address; it indicates where the book is located on the library shelves.

Every item record in Encore also includes a call number. When searching Encore, you want to be sure to jot down or print off the complete LC call number in order to locate the item on the shelf.

If you haven’t narrowed down your topic for a research assignment but have a general subject in mind, you can also browse the shelves if you know the beginning Library of Congress classification letters for that subject (e.g., BF – Psychology books; L - Education; PS – American Literature; R – Medicine)

For example, books related to the Health Sciences, including Medicine, Nursing and related topics, have call numbers beginning with the letter "R". The letters and numbers that follow indicate the specific subject area.

R: Medcine (General)
R131-684: History of Medicine

RA: Public Aspects of Medicine
RA1001-1171: Forensic Medicine

RB: Pathology

RC: Internal Medicine

RD: Surgery
RD92-96: Wounds and injuries

RJ: Pediatrics

RM: Pharmacology
RM300-666: Drugs and their action

RT1-120: Nursing
RT89-120: Specialties in Nursing

RZ: Other systems of medicine
RZ201-265: Chiropractic

Please don't hesitate to ask a librarian if you need assistance in locating a book.

Adapted from Library Instruction - Package Two - 75 Minute Session by J. Sargeant Reynolds Community College Library. Used with permission.