Is McFarlin Library open to the public?
McFarlin Library is not open to the general public. All patrons entering McFarlin Library MUST have a current valid TU ID Card or a Library Associate Membership Card to be able to use the facility. Visitors and other individuals who wish to use the facility must check in at the Library Service Desk. Visitors using the library are allowed one visit per year for research and evaluation purposes. Individuals interested in additional use of the library may pick up a Library Associate Membership application at the Check Out desk. Computer Lab facilities are restricted to current TU students, faculty, and staff.
Special Collections is open to the public Monday through Friday 8-5 (excluding holidays). For more information on using Special Collections, please visit their website, call 918-631-2496 or check the Special Collections FAQ.
For access to the freely available materials in Government Documents, please check the information at the Documents website or call 918-631-2871
What is a "Library Associates" card and how can I get one?
The University of Tulsa offers a "fee for access" service that allows persons not affiliated with TU the opportunity to utilize the resources of McFarlin Library on an ongoing basis. An "Application for Individual Library Services" is available at the Library Service Desk. Call 918-631-2871 for further information.
Access/Check Out privileges to McFarlin Library do not include media checkout, interlibrary loan, computer lab resources, or remote access to electronic databases. These services are restricted to current students, faculty, and staff.
Students at other universities pay a somewhat reduced rate.
The following limitations and restrictions apply to holders of Library Associates cards:
May TU Alumni use the library?
Yes, Alumni of The University of Tulsa are entitled to a complimentary card which allows individual access to the building. Remote access to the databases is not included. Alumni cards do not expire. There is an $60 annual fee only if you want check out privileges. See the alumni page or call 918-631-2871 for more information.
When is the library open?
Current library hours are available here.
Where is the library located on campus?
McFarlin Library is located in the center of campus at The University of Tulsa. McFarlin is building #28 on the campus map.
The University of Tulsa's website provides complete driving directions to the University for visitors coming from different directions.
Can I access the Library databases from home?
Yes, although off-campus access to the library's large collection of databases is restricted to current TU students, faculty, and staff. You must access the databases by going through the library's website or the library's database list. Try checking this guide for more information.
If you should have any problems, please contact Charles Brooks at 918-631-3793. You may also call the Library Service Desk at 918-631-2871.
What about the electronic journals? Can I get to them from home?
The library's e-journal collection is available off-campus only to current students, faculty, and staff of The University of Tulsa.
May I make a donation to McFarlin Library?
If you wish to make a contribution to McFarlin Library for library acquisitions, in memory of an individual or to honor a graduating student, please visit our Giving to McFarlin page for details. Your support is deeply appreciated.