Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
McFarlin Logo
Library Hours (Complete list of hours)
Monday - Thursday 9:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Friday 9:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Saturday Closed
Sunday Closed

Get Help

Physics: Library Services

This Library Research Guide will provide information about and access to some of the most significant research materials available in McFarlin Library related to the discipline of Physics.

Library’s Web Site

Start your library research by visiting the McFarlin Library Website:

  • Access over 500 research databases that provide citations, abstract, or full‐text of online journals, magazines, and newspaper articles.
     
  • Access Encore, the library’s catalog to find out what books (audio, online, & print) as well as videos (DVDs and CDs) are available.

Use the Library from Home

Off‐campus access to the library's large collection of databases, e‐journals and e-books is restricted to current TU students, faculty, and staff. You must access the databases by going through the library's website or the library's database list.

Building maps

McFarlin Library opened in 1930 with additions added in 1966, 1979 and 2009. It's a wonderfully challenging building to navigate.

Borrowing Materials from McFarlin Library

McFarlin Library's bookstacks are currently closed to the public due to the COVID-19 pandemic.  If you need a book or books you may fill out the online book request form.  Library staff will retrieve the book(s) you need for you to pick up at the Plaza Level Check-out Desk.

Your TU ID serves as your library borrower’s card.  You MUST have your TU ID card with you in order to check out any materials. Circulating materials include books, music CDs, educational DVDs (documentaries, classic films) and popular DVDs (recent movies, TV shows).

Check out times for undergrad students:

  • Books - 28 days with opportunity for 3 renewals.  Maximum of 100 books checked out at a time.
  • Media - 14 days. This includes DVDs, CDs and VHS. Renewals allowed.
  • Reserve materials - 2 hr. in library use only; 1, 3, 7 day checkout.

Check out times for grad students:

  • Books - 90 days with opportunity for 3 renewals.  Maximum of 200 books checked out at a time.
  • Media - 14 days. This includes DVDs, CDs and VHS. Renewals allowed.
  • Reserve materials - 2 hr. in library use only; 1, 3, 7 day checkout.

You may renew materials at the Library Service Desk, by phone (918-631-2871Call Us!) or through your "My Library" account.

The library offers a book retrieval service for undergraduate and graduate students, as well as for faculty and staff.

Books can be recalled after 14 days. You may ask the Check Out Dept. to put a hold on a book so that it will come to you as soon as it's returned.

Print magazines/journals/newspapers and materials from Special Collections do not circulate.

All TU students have access to the Law Library (MLIC) and may check out most items available there. MLIC may have slightly different policies about length of checkout.

'My Library' features

The My Library feature includes several useful functions. Interlibrary Loan materials are NOT included.

  1. It allows you to see what books you have checked out.
  2. Renew your books without coming into the library
  3. Save searches
  4. Keep lists
  5. Reading history (You must 'opt in' to use this feature. After that, any book you check out through our library will appear in your history. You can delete any book or opt out at any time. Sorry, but ILL books are not included since they are checked out independently.)
  6. New book notification (If the "Mark for Email" column is checked, the system will automatically re-run your search at the first of each month and send you an email notification of any new books or other items acquired during the previous month that matches your search criteria.  You may remove the search at any time by clicking on the "Mark to Remove" button and then clicking on the 'Update List'   button. Be careful of the Clear All Searches button.)

Borrowing from Other Libraries

Research materials not available at the TU Libraries can be requested through Interlibrary Loan. To request material, fill out the Interlibrary Loan Request form.

Where to Check Out?

Go to the Check Out Desk on the Plaza Level to check out, renew, and return books and other library materials; check out reserve and interlibrary loan materials; and inquire about loan periods. Standard check out period for books for undergraduates is 28 days. You can have up to 100 books checked out at a time.  You may renew your books online by using your My Library account.

Photocopiers/Scanning

Self-service copiers are located on the Intermediate and Lower Levels of the McFarlin west wing. Copies are $.10/page. A change machine is available next to the copier on the Intermediate Level.

Free scanners are available on either side of the main stairwell on the Lower Level.

Areas for Individual Study

Due to the COVID-19 pandemic McFarlin Library permits only individual study with one person allowed per study table.  Study areas in the library include:

  • The North and South Reading Rooms on the Plaza Level, and the third Reading Room, called the Student Study, on the Third Floor. No talking or visiting is allowed in these rooms at any time.
     
  • The Browsing & Lower Levels in the West Wing 
     
  • The Gray Commons on the Third Floor, directly above the Check Out Desk.
     
  • NOTE: The private group study rooms on the Lower Level are closed due to the COVID-19 pandemic.