Computer Science: A Guide to McFarlin Library Resources: Library Services

Start your library research by visiting the McFarlin Library Website:

• Access over 500 research databases that provide citations, abstract, or full‐text of online journals, magazines, and newspaper articles.
   
• Use Summon to find out what books (print & electronic), videos (DVDs and CDs), journal articles and more are available from McFarlin Library.

Off‐campus access to the library's large collection of databases, e‐journals and e-books is restricted to current TU students, faculty, and staff. You must access the databases by going through the library's website or the library's database list.

McFarlin Library opened in 1930 with additions added in 1966, 1979 and 2009. It's a wonderfully challenging building to navigate.

McFarlin Library's bookstacks are fully open to students, faculty and staff, although the Lower Level stacks are currently closed due to flood damage.

The library also offers a retrieval service.  If you need a book or books you may fill out the online book request form.  Library staff will retrieve the book(s) you need for you to pick up at the Plaza Level Check-out Desk.

Your TU ID serves as your library borrower’s card.  You MUST have your TU ID card with you in order to check out any materials. Circulating materials include books, music CDs, educational DVDs (documentaries, classic films) and popular DVDs (recent movies, TV shows).

Check out times for undergrad students:

• Books - 28 days with opportunity for 3 renewals.  Maximum of 100 books checked out at a time.
• Media - 14 days. This includes DVDs, CDs and VHS. Renewals allowed.
• Reserve materials - 2 hr. in library use only; 1, 3, 7 day checkout.

Check out times for grad students:

• Books - 90 days with opportunity for 3 renewals.  Maximum of 200 books checked out at a time.
• Media - 14 days. This includes DVDs, CDs and VHS. Renewals allowed.
• Reserve materials - 2 hr. in library use only; 1, 3, 7 day checkout.

You may renew materials at the Library Service Desk, by phone (918-631-2871) or through your "My Library" account.

Books can be recalled after 14 days. You may ask the Check Out Dept. to put a hold on a book so that it will come to you as soon as it's returned.

Print magazines/journals/newspapers and materials from Special Collections do not circulate.

All TU students have access to the Law Library (MLIC) and may check out most items available there. MLIC may have slightly different policies about length of checkout.

The My Library feature includes several useful functions. Interlibrary Loan materials are NOT included.

1. It allows you to see what books you have checked out.
2. Renew your books without coming into the library
3. Save searches
4. Keep lists
5. Reading history (You must 'opt in' to use this feature. After that, any book you check out through our library will appear in your history. You can delete any book or opt out at any time. Sorry, but ILL books are not included since they are checked out independently.)
6. New book notification (If the "Mark for Email" column is checked, the system will automatically re-run your search at the first of each month and send you an email notification of any new books or other items acquired during the previous month that matches your search criteria.  You may remove the search at any time by clicking on the "Mark to Remove" button and then clicking on the 'Update List'   button. Be careful of the Clear All Searches button.)

Research materials not available at the TU Libraries can be requested through Interlibrary Loan. To request material, fill out the Interlibrary Loan Request form.

Go to the Check Out Desk on the Plaza Level to check out, renew, and return books and other library materials; check out reserve and interlibrary loan materials; and inquire about loan periods. Standard check out period for books for undergraduates is 28 days. You can have up to 100 books checked out at a time.  You may renew your books online by using your My Library account.

A combination printer, scanner and photocopier is available for student use on the Browsing Level in the West Wing of McFarlin Library.  This device will print color copies.  Use the link below for information on how to sign in to your PaperCut account.

If you have any problems or questions using the printer, please feel free to page the library staff for assistance or ask for help at the Plaza Level Circulation Desk.

IT Help Desk

Printing on Campus