Computer Science: A Guide to McFarlin Library Resources: Technical Reports, etc.
The Library Research Guide (LibGuide) will introduce you to the major resources available from McFarlin Library related to research in the field of Computer Science.
arXiv.org provides "open access to 1,224,705 e-prints in Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance and Statistics. arXiv is maintained and operated by the Cornell University Library with guidance from the arXiv Scientific Advisory Board and the arXiv Member Advisory Board, and with the help of numerous subject moderators." -- arXiv.org website
The National Technical Information Library is a federally funded bibliographic science and technology research information database. To search the database and to download full text pdf's you will need to create a FREE account, which limits you to 10 downloads per search session. Currently there are more than 850,000 documents digitized for free public access.
"Science.gov searches over 60 databases and over 2200 selected websites from 15 federal agencies, offering 200 million pages of authoritative U.S. government science information including research and development results." -- Science.gov website
"The Technical Report Archive & Image Library (TRAIL) identifies, acquires, catalogs, digitizes and provides unrestricted access to U.S. government agency technical reports." -- TRAIL website
" The mission of TRAIL is to ensure preservation, discoverability, and persistent open access to government technical publications regardless of form or format. TRAIL provides unrestricted access to these digitized technical reports through the TRAIL Search Interface (link is external). Millions of pages of elusive technical reports are now discoverable, thanks to the collaborative effort of TRAIL members." -- TRAIL website
"IEEE Xplore is an online delivery system providing full text access to the world's highest quality technical literature in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics." -- website
NOTICE: On Wednesday, 10 July, IEEE Xplore will undergo scheduled maintenance from Noon-4:00 PM CDT. During this time, there may be intermittent impact on performance. We apologize for any inconvenience.
PapersFirst is an index to scholarly papers presented at conferences, symposia, workshops, and other professional meetings from October 1993 to the present. It covers only those papers received by the British Library Document Supply Center. (NOTE: Search ProceedingsFirst to locate information on the meetings at which these papers were presented.)
ProceedingsFirst is an index to the publications of professional meetings, such as conferences, workshops, and symposia, held since October of 1993. It covers only publications received by the British Library Document Supply Center. (NOTE: Search PapersFirst to locate information on the individual papers presented at these meetings.)
"The Patent Public Search tool is a new web-based patent search application that will replace internal legacy search tools PubEast and PubWest and external legacy search tools PatFT and AppFT. Patent Public Search has two user selectable modern interfaces that provide enhanced access to prior art. The new, powerful, and flexible capabilities of the application will improve the overall patent searching process." -- USPTO
"Google Patent Search covers the entire collection of issued patents and millions of patent application made available by the USPTO—from patents issued in the 1790s through those most recently issued in the past few months. We don't currently include international patents, but we look forward to expanding our coverage in the future." -- Google
"This database lets you access 91 years of [Canadian] patent descriptions and images. You can search, retrieve and study more than 2,080,000 patent documents. The text of the abstracts and claims is not available for patents that were granted prior to August 15, 1978. These patents can only be searched by their patent number, titles, owner or inventor names, or classification." -- from website
"Espacenet offers free access to more than 90 million patent documents worldwide, containing information about inventions and technical developments from 1836 to today. It has a user-friendly interface available in almost all European languages. It enables users with little or no experience in patent searching to obtain an overview of the state of the art, to follow new developments or to find out who invented what." - European Patent Office
"The Association for Information Science and Technology (ASIS&T) is the only professional association that bridges the gap between information science practice and research. For nearly 80 years, ASIS&T has been leading the search for new and better theories, techniques, and technologies to improve access to information." -- ASIS&T
"The Association for Women in Computing (AWC) was founded in Washington, D.C. in 1978 and is one of the first professional organizations for women in computing. AWC is dedicated to promoting the advancement of women in the computing professions. Our members include many types of computer professionals, such as programmers, system analysts, operators, technical writers, Internet specialists, trainers and consultants. The purpose of AWC is to provide opportunities for professional growth through networking and through programs on technical and career-oriented topics. AWC encourages high standards of competence and promotes a professional attitude among its members." -- AWC
"AITP is the leading worldwide society of information technology business professionals and the community of knowledge for the current and next generation of leaders. AITP's mission is to provide its members with the opportunities and resources necessary to develop and advance their IT careers." -- AITP
"CPSR is a global organization promoting the responsible use of computer technology. . . Originally founded by U.S. computer scientists, CPSR now has members in 26 countries on six continents." -- CPSR
"The IEEE Computer Society is the world's leading membership organization dedicated to computer science and technology. Serving more than 60,000 members, the IEEE Computer Society is the trusted information, networking, and career-development source for a global community of technology leaders that includes researchers, educators, software engineers, IT professionals, employers, and students." -- IEEECS
