It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Chemical Engineering: Articles
This Library Research Guide (LibGuide) will introduce you to the major resources available from McFarlin Library for conducting research in the field of Chemical Engineering.
"The Publications Division of the American Chemical Society provides the worldwide scientific community with a comprehensive collection of the most cited peer-reviewed journals in the chemical and related sciences. In addition to 34 research journals, the society also publishes the premier weekly newsmagazine of the chemical enterprise, Chemical & Engineering News. With the ACS Journal Archives, ACS Publications provides searchable access to over 130 years of original research in chemistry, including more than 750,000 articles dating back to the inaugural volume of the Journal of the American Chemical Society in 1879." -- ACS
"The peer-reviewed journals of ACS publish cutting-edge articles across a broad spectrum of scientific disciplines—agricultural science, biotechnology, analytical chemistry, applied chemistry, biochemistry & molecular biology, chemical biology, chemical engineering, computer science, crystallography, energy & fuels, food science, environmental science, inorganic & nuclear chemistry, material science, medicinal chemistry, organic chemistry, pharmacology, physical chemistry, plant sciences, polymer science, and toxicology. The breadth and scope of ACS Journals is unparalleled." -- ACS website
"The Digital Library (DL) provides searchable online access to the various journals, books, and other collections published by The Electrochemical Society. . . . The Electrochemical Society (ECS) is an 8,000-member organization of scientists and engineers in over 70 countries worldwide. The Society has a long tradition in advancing the theory and practice of electrochemical and solid state science by dissemination of information through its publications and international meetings." -- ECS website
"Energy & Power Source offers cover-to-cover indexing for nearly 950 publications, including journals, monographs, magazines and trade publications, all directly dealing with energy industry-related issues. Hundreds of key energy-focused industry and market reports are also included. This database also features tens of thousands of additional energy industry articles, benchmarks and best practices, selected from thousands of trade and industry publications." -- EBSCO
"Environment Complete™ offers deep coverage in applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more." -- EBSCO
"Environment Complete contains more than 2,183,500 records from more than 1,900 domestic and international titles going back to the 1940s (including over 1,100 active core titles) as well as more than 130 monographs. The database also contains full text for more than 750 journals, including many of the most used journals in the discipline, such as Environment (back to 1975), Ecologist, Conservation Biology, etc. Additionally, Environment Complete provides full text for more than 130 monographs, such as Encyclopedia of World Environmental History (3 volumes), Advances in Water Treatment & Environmental Management, etc." -- EBSCO
"Journals from the RSC are recognised as the fastest in the field, some papers having been published within a day of receipt, including full peer review and editing. This is made possible by a dedicated, professional staff, and truly innovative electronic workflow systems." -- RSC website
"SciFinder® is a research discovery application that provides unlimited access to the world's most comprehensive and authoritative source of references, substances and reactions in chemistry and related sciences." -- ACS NOTE: This is the original or "classic" version of SciFinder, sometimes called SciFinder-web. It will be retired at the end of 2021 and you will need to use SciFindern.
You must have an account to use SciFinder. The account is free. Register here for your SciFinder account.
IMPORTANT: A new interface, called SciFindern, with enhanced search capabilities and additional tools for information retrieval (including PatentPak) is now available. Your existing SciFinder login works with SciFindern. You do not have to create a new account.
"Scopus covers more than 15,000 peer-reviewed journals in science, technology, medicine and social sciences from over 4,000 international publishers." Scopus includes "coverage of: Open Access journals, Conference Proceedings, Trade Publications and Book Series." -- Elsevier
Search Summon for Journal Articles
Search the library using Summon for articles from scholarly/peer-reviewed journals.
ScienceDirect Quick Search
Academic Search Complete Quick Search
Looking for a Journal?
Search here to see if McFarlin subscribes to a journal you need: