It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Biological Science: Articles
This Library Research Guide will provide information about and access to some of the most significant research materials available in McFarlin Library related to the discipline of Biological Science.
"AGRICOLA (AGRICultural OnLine Access) serves as the catalog and index to the collections of the National Agricultural Library, as well as a primary public source for world-wide access to agricultural information. The database covers materials in all formats and periods, including printed works from as far back as the 15th century." -- National Agricultural Library
BioOne is a collection of the full texts of various research journals focused on the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences. It "is the product of innovative collaboration between scientific societies, libraries, academe and the private sector. BioOne brings to the Web a uniquely valuable aggregation of the full-texts of high-impact bioscience research journals. Most of BioOne’s titles are published by small societies and non-commercial publishers, and, until now, have been available only in printed form. BioOne provides integrated, cost-effective access to a thoroughly linked information resource of interrelated journals focused on the biological, ecological and environmental sciences."
"The Life Sciences Collection is JSTOR's largest collection, with over 5.5 million pages available today and scheduled to grow to more than seven million. At its completion, it will comprise a minimum of 160 titles spanning disciplines in the biological, health, and general sciences." -- JSTOR
The National Center for Biotechnology Information advances science and health by providing access to biomedical and genomic information in a number of public access databases. Topics you may research using these resources include nucleotide and protein sequences, protein and chemical structures, genomes, taxonomy, etc.
"PubMed lets you search millions of journal citations and abstracts in the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and preclinical sciences. It includes access to MEDLINE® and to citations for selected articles in life science journals not included in MEDLINE. PubMed also provides access to additional relevant Web sites and links to the other NCBI molecular biology resources." -- National Library of Medicine
"PubMed is a free resource that is developed and maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information NCBI, at the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM), located at the National Institutes of Health (NIH)." -- NLM
"Scopus covers more than 15,000 peer-reviewed journals in science, technology, medicine and social sciences from over 4,000 international publishers." Scopus includes "coverage of: Open Access journals, Conference Proceedings, Trade Publications and Book Series." -- Elsevier
Search Summon for Journal Articles
Search the library using Summon for articles from scholarly/peer-reviewed journals.