Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Best Databases for locating articles in the Geosciences
AAPG/Datapages provides full text access to publications from the American Association of Petroleum Geologists. AAPG/Datapages provides full text access to publications from the American Association of Petroleum Geologists. Included are the AAPG Bulletin (1917 to the present), Gulf Coast Association of Geological Societies (GCAGS) Transactions 1951-2001, Journal of Sedimentary Research (SEPM) 1931-2001, Journal of Petroleum Geology (U.K.) 1978-1998, Field Papers of the New Orleans and East Texas Geological Society, as well as publications by the Pacific Section of AAPG and the Canadian Society of Petroleum Geologists (CSPG) publications." -- Website
Geological Society of America Publications
"Established in 1888, The Geological Society of America provides access to elements that are essential to the professional growth of earth scientists at all levels of expertise and from all sectors: academic, government, business, and industry. The Geological Society's growing membership unites thousands of earth scientists from every corner of the globe in a common purpose to study the mysteries of our planet and share scientific findings." -- GSA website
"GeoRef, produced by the American Geographical Institute, is a comprehensive geosciences database containing over 3 million bibliographic records to the geoscience literature of the world. Among the subjects covered in GeoRef are: environmental and engineering geology, hydrology, economic geology, geophysics, petrology, paleontology, marine geology and oceanography, and mineralogy. Over 3,500 journals are reviewed for indexing in the GeoRef database as well as books, maps, government reports, conference papers, and theses and dissertations. The geology of North America is covered from 1669 to the present, and coverage dates back to 1933 for the rest of the world. Over 100,000 references are added to GeoRef annually." -- EBSCO
ScienceDirect is a major scientific database offering access to a large number peer-reviewed journal articles. It is part of Elsevier, the world's largest scientific, technical and medical publisher.
"Scopus covers more than 15,000 peer-reviewed journals in science, technology, medicine and social sciences from over 4,000 international publishers." Scopus includes "coverage of: Open Access journals, Conference Proceedings, Trade Publications and Book Series." -- Elsevier
SEPM (Society for Sedimentary Geology) Publications
"SEPM (Society for Sedimentary Geology) is an international not-for-profit Society based in Tulsa, Oklahoma. Through its network of international members, the Society is dedicated to the dissemination of scientific information on sedimentology, stratigraphy, paleontology, environmental sciences, marine geology, hydrogeology, and many additional related specialties. The Society supports members in their professional objectives by publication of two major scientific journals, the Journal of Sedimentary Research (JSR) and PALAIOS, in addition to producing technical conferences, short courses, and Special Publications. Through SEPM's Continuing Education, Publications, Meetings, and other programs, members can both gain and exchange information pertinent to their geologic specialties." -- SEPM website
General Science Full Text Quick Search
ScienceDirect Quick Search
Academic Search Complete Quick Search
Articles Quick Search
Search select library databases using Encore for published articles from academic journals, popular magazines and newspapers.
Looking for a Journal?
Search here to see if McFarlin subscribes to a journal you need: