Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Best Databases for locating articles in Petroleum Engineering
AAPG/Datapages provides full text access to publications from the American Association of Petroleum Geologists. AAPG/Datapages provides full text access to publications from the American Association of Petroleum Geologists. Included are the AAPG Bulletin (1917 to the present), Gulf Coast Association of Geological Societies (GCAGS) Transactions 1951-2001, Journal of Sedimentary Research (SEPM) 1931-2001, Journal of Petroleum Geology (U.K.) 1978-1998, Field Papers of the New Orleans and East Texas Geological Society, as well as publications by the Pacific Section of AAPG and the Canadian Society of Petroleum Geologists (CSPG) publications." -- Website
"EarthDoc [is] EAGE’s geoscience database. Here you can access all papers published in the following journals: First Break, Near Surface Geophysics, Petroleum Geoscience, Seismic Technology, Journal of Environmental and Engineering Geophysics & Journal of the Balkan Geophysical Society. Your subscription also includes access to all event papers presented at EAGE’s events including those of and in cooperation with other societies." -- Website
Energy & Power Source
"Energy & Power Source offers cover-to-cover indexing for nearly 950 publications, including journals, monographs, magazines and trade publications, all directly dealing with energy industry-related issues. Hundreds of key energy-focused industry and market reports are also included. This database also features tens of thousands of additional energy industry articles, benchmarks and best practices, selected from thousands of trade and industry publications." -- EBSCO
Launched in March 2007, OnePetro currently contains more than 80,000 documents, with more being added frequently. All papers from SPE's eLibrary are included in OnePetro. This includes meeting and journal papers extending back to 1927. SPE also includes some presentations from Distinguished Lecturers and panel/plenary sessions at their meetings. SPE currently has more than 50,000 documents available in OnePetro.
Petroleum Abstracts TULSA Database
"The Petroleum Abstracts TULSA® Database is a comprehensive source of information on the oil and gas exploration and production industry with more than one million entries dating from 1965 to present. The database contains indexed bibliographic references and abstracts for scientific and technical articles from 300 journals and 200 conference proceedings worldwide, patent gazettes and full-text patents, government documents, dissertations, books, and other sources. The topics covered include: Geology; Geochemistry; Geophysics; Drilling; Well Logging; Well Completion and Servicing; Production of Oil and Gas; Reservoir Engineering and Recovery Methods; Pipelining, Shipping and Storage; Alternate Fuels and Energy Sources; Business and Economics; Health, Safety and Environment; and Science and Engineering. More than 35,000 entries are added to the database each year." -- EBSCO
ScienceDirect is a major scientific database offering access to a large number peer-reviewed journal articles. It is part of Elsevier, the world's largest scientific, technical and medical publisher.
"Scopus covers more than 15,000 peer-reviewed journals in science, technology, medicine and social sciences from over 4,000 international publishers." Scopus includes "coverage of: Open Access journals, Conference Proceedings, Trade Publications and Book Series." -- Elsevier
Petroleum Abstracts Quick Search
ScienceDirect Quick Search
Academic Search Complete Quick Search
Articles Quick Search
Search select library databases using Encore for published articles from academic journals, popular magazines and newspapers.
Looking for a Journal?
Search here to see if McFarlin subscribes to a journal you need: