Is McFarlin Library open to the public?
McFarlin Library is not open to the general public. Visitors and other individuals who wish to use the facility must check in at the Library Service Desk. Individuals are allowed one free library visit per year for research and evaluation purposes. Individuals interested in additional use of the library should check our visitors page for more information.
Visitors are allowed in the building Monday-Friday 8 a.m. - 5 p.m., provided the library is open. This includes: individuals using their free yearly visit, those who have paid for more frequent access to the building and those visiting the Department of Special Collections and University Archives or the government repository.
Special Collections is open to the public Monday - Friday 8 a.m. - 4:30 p.m. (excluding holidays). For more information on using Special Collections, please visit their website, call 918-631-2496 or check the Special Collections FAQ.
For access to the freely available materials in Government Documents, please check the information at the Documents website or call 918-631-2871
May TU Alumni use the library?
Yes, Alumni of The University of Tulsa are allowed individual access to the building Monday-Friday 8 a.m. - 5 p.m., provided the library is open. Access to the databases is not included. There is an $60 annual fee only if you want check out privileges. See the alumni page or call 918-631-2871 for more information.
When is the library open?
Current library hours are available here.
Where is the library located on campus?
McFarlin Library is located in the center of campus at The University of Tulsa. McFarlin is searchable on the interactive campus map.
Can I access the Library databases from home?
Yes, current students, faculty, and staff of The University of Tulsa have full access to all the library’s online products when not on the TU campus. McFarlin uses a proxy server. You must access the databases by going through the library's website or the library's database list. Try checking this guide for more information.
If you should have any problems, please contact Charles Brooks at 918-631-3793. You may also call the Library Service Desk at 918-631-2871.
What about the electronic journals? Can I get to them from home?
Yes, but you will need to get to them through the library catalog or the journal list. Try checking this guide for more information.
The library's e-journal collection is available off-campus only to current students, faculty, and staff of The University of Tulsa.
May I make a donation to McFarlin Library?
The McFarlin Library has temporarily suspended the acceptance of ALL donations to the general book collection while we search for and transition to a new Director of Library Bibliographic Services.
If you wish to donate materials to special collections, please see their gift policy.
If you wish to make a monetary contribution to McFarlin Library for library acquisitions, in memory of an individual or to honor a graduating student, please visit our Giving to McFarlin page for details. Your support is deeply appreciated.
How do I contact the Library?
Contact McFarlin Library
Email: mcfarlinlibrary@utulsa.edu
Text: (224)-357-6350
Phone: (918)-631-2871
Contact Special Collections
Email: speccoll@utulsa.edu
Phone: (918)-631-2496
