It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Education Quick Guide: Education
This LibGuide will introduce you to some of the major research sources available from McFarlin Library in the field of Education.
Academic Search CompleteThis link opens in a new window"Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 9,810 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc." -- EBSCO
"Education Research Complete also covers areas of curriculum instruction as well as administration, policy, funding, and related social issues. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 2,100 journals, as well as full text for more than 1,200 journals. This database also includes full text for nearly 500 books and monographs, and full text for numerous education-related conference papers." -- EBSCO
ERICThis link opens in a new windowERIC, the U.S. Department of Education’s Educational Resource Information Center database, contains citations and abstracts for published articles from over 980 educational and education-related journals.
In addition, ERIC collects and distributes a huge variety of print material (much of it unpublished) that relates to education. These "ERIC Documents" include research reports, program descriptions, surveys, curriculum guides and other instructional materials, conference papers, and much more. Many ERIC Documents issued since 1966 are available full text through the EBSCOhost version of ERIC. (Look for a Full Text from ERIC link.) These documents may also be available on the Lower Level of McFarlin Library in the ERIC Document microfiche collection. This database also contains the full text of more than 2,200 digests along with references for additional information.
Project MUSEThis link opens in a new window"Project MUSE is an online collection of over 300 scholarly journal titles in the arts, humanities, and social sciences from 40 university and society presses. MUSE journals cover many different subject areas including literature, history, political science, economics, education, film, philosophy, religion, women’s studies, and many more. MUSE provides full-text articles, reviews (books, performance, art, music, etc.), fiction and poetry, and enlargeable illustrations and photographs. Most articles are offered in both HTML and PDF formats. MUSE also provides informational pages covering editorial and submission information for the journals." -- Project Muse
"All journals participating in Project MUSE are peer-reviewed, scholarly titles. The basic criteria for participation in Muse are that the journal must be peer-reviewed, be published by a not-for-profit press or scholarly society, and be a sensible fit with titles in the humanities, the social sciences and the arts." -- Project Muse website
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses GlobalThis link opens in a new window"ProQuest Dissertations and Theses: Global (PQDTGlobal) is the world's most comprehensive collection of full-text dissertations and theses. As the official digital dissertations archive for the Library of Congress and as the database of record for graduate research, PQDTGlobal includes millions of searchable citations to dissertations and theses from 1861 to the present day together with over a million full-text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. Over 2.1 million titles are available for purchase as printed copies. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full-text coverage for older graduate works. It also includes PQDT UK & Ireland content." -- ProQuest
SPORTDiscus with Full TextThis link opens in a new window"SPORTDiscus™ with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive source of full text for sports & sports medicine journals, providing full text for more than 490 journals indexed in SPORTDiscus. Of those, 337 are not found with full text in any version of Academic Search™ or Health Source®." -- EBSCO
"This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the SPORTDiscus index - with no embargo. With full-text coverage dating back to 1985, SPORTDiscus with Full Text is the definitive research tool for all areas of sports & sports medicine literature." -- EBSCO
Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in PrintThis link opens in a new window"Produced by the Buros Center for Testing at the University of Nebraska, the Mental Measurements Yearbook (MMY) provides users with a comprehensive guide to thousands of contemporary testing instruments. Designed for an audience ranging from novice test consumers to experienced professionals, the MMY series contains information essential for a complete evaluation of test products within such diverse areas as psychology, education, business, and leadership. All MMY entries contain descriptive information (e.g., test purpose, publisher, pricing) and edited review(s) written by leading content area experts. To be included in the MMY, a test must be commercially available, be published in the English language, and be new or revised since it last appeared in the series. First published by Oscar K. Buros, the MMY series allows users to make knowledgeable judgments and informed selection decisions about the increasingly complex world of testing. Subscribers are entitled access to the content included in all volumes of the Mental Measurements Yearbook series from Volume 1 to current." -- EBSCO
"Also produced by the Buros Institute of Mental Measurements at the University of Nebraska, Tests in Print (TIP) serves as a comprehensive bibliography to all known commercially available tests that are currently in print in the English language. TIP provides vital information to users including test purpose, test publisher, in-print status, price, test acronym, intended test population, administration times, publication date(s), and test author(s)." -- EBSCO
Search the library using Summon for books, ebooks, journal articles, DVDs, and other materials you need.
Looking for a Journal?
Search here to see if McFarlin subscribes to a journal you need:
Search for Dissertations and Theses
Acceptable Use of Electronic Resources
IMPORTANT NOTICE: Systematic downloading of the licensed and copyrighted content of McFarlin Library's electronic resources, such as the use of scripted searches, download accelerators or web robots (i.e., "bots") of any kind, is STRICTLY PROHIBITED. You should download only the content you require for your immediate research needs or course assignment. For more information, please see McFarlin Library's Acceptable Use of Electronic Resources.