It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Business Quick Guide: Business
This LibGuide will introduce you to some of the major research sources available from McFarlin Library in the field of Business.
ABI/INFORM GlobalThis link opens in a new window"ABI/INFORM Global offers the latest business and financial information for researchers at all levels. It includes in-depth coverage for over 2,700 publications, with more than 2,000 available in full text." -- ProQuest
Academic Search CompleteThis link opens in a new window"Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 9,810 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc." -- EBSCO
Business Source CompleteThis link opens in a new window"Business Source Complete is the world's definitive scholarly business database, providing the leading collection of bibliographic and full text content. As part of the comprehensive coverage offered by this database, indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back as far as 1886 are included. In addition to the searchable cited references provided for more than 1,300 journals, Business Source Complete contains detailed author profiles for the 40,000 most-cited authors in the database. Journal ranking studies reveal that Business Source Complete is the overwhelmingly superior database for full text journals in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics." Additional full text content includes:
JSTOR Business CollectionsThis link opens in a new window"With a minimum of 50 titles, the Business IV Collection builds on the strong economics and business foundation of the Business I, II, and III Collections. Business IV increases JSTOR's coverage in core fields such as economics, management, industrial relations, and finance, with a broad international scope. The collection will also contain prominent titles in microeconomics (especially behavioral, labor, health, urban, and development economics) and management (including supply chain management and decision science)." -- JSTOR
Quick Company and Financial Information
Mergent IntellectThis link opens in a new window"Mergent Intellect is a highly flexible web-based application that features a deep collection of worldwide business information that enables companies to generate insightful business intelligence. Coupling Mergent's expertise in developing products for the reference marketplace with D&B®'s private company database, Mergent Intellect offers new and existing clients a unique opportunity to access private and public U.S and international business data, industry news, facts and figures, executive contact information, the ability to access industry profiles and much more -- Mergent
"Additionally, through Mergent’s partnership with Whitepages Pro, clients now have immediate access to contact information for over 250 million U.S. consumers. This enhanced search tool features specific information - name, address, previous address, age, number of household members and reverse phone number lookup capabilities - another valuable source of business insight." -- Mergent
Mergent OnlineThis link opens in a new window"This state-of-the-art product provides Internet-based access to the most detailed, accurate and comprehensive global company database available, with the latest in features and functions. Rich textual descriptions - the hallmark of all Mergent publications - offer a wealth of detail on items including business description, history, property, subsidiaries, officers and directors, long-term debt and capital stock. Financial statements are presented in 'as-reported' form and in native currencies, maintaining the full integrity of this critical information." -- Mergent
Standard & Poor's NetAdvantageThis link opens in a new window"Standard & Poor’s NetAdvantage is a comprehensive source of business and investment information, offering on-line access to Standard & Poor’s independent research, data and commentary on stocks, bonds, funds, and industries." -- S&P
NetAdvantage provides access to these popular S&P research products:
Mutual Fund Reports
Register of Corporations
Directors and Executives
ValueLine Investment Survey - PlusThis link opens in a new window"The Value Line Investment Survey is one of the most widely used independent investment information services in the world. Its up-to-date, weekly issues are also a comprehensive reference that has something useful for virtually every investor. In breadth of coverage it is encyclopedic, covering some 1,700 equity issues. -- website
"The Value Line Investment Survey, however, provides more than just descriptive information. For each stock in its universe it offers year-ahead and three- to five-year probable relative price performance, projections of key financial measures, and concise, objective commentary on current operations and future prospects." -- website
EDGAR SEC Filings & FormsThis link opens in a new windowEDGAR (Electronic Data Gathering, Analysis, and Retrieval system) is a database of forms filed by public companies with the Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC). It is a valuable source of information on individual companies that is both very current and detailed.
Not all forms for each company may be available on EDGAR. The SEC notes that some documents are still not filed electronically while others may be placed on EDGAR only at the discretion of the filer. Filings from foreign companies are also not required to be filed on EDGAR, though some are. Finally, companies do not have to submit their annual report to shareholders to EDGAR, with the exception of investment companies. Fortunately, Form 10-K or Form 10-KSB is required to be filed on EDGAR and contains most of the same information as the shareholder report.
Search the library using Summon for books, ebooks, journal articles, DVDs, and other materials you need.
Looking for a Journal?
Search here to see if McFarlin subscribes to a journal you need:
Search for Dissertations and Theses
Acceptable Use of Electronic Resources
IMPORTANT NOTICE: Systematic downloading of the licensed and copyrighted content of McFarlin Library's electronic resources, such as the use of scripted searches, download accelerators or web robots (i.e., "bots") of any kind, is STRICTLY PROHIBITED. You should download only the content you require for your immediate research needs or course assignment. For more information, please see McFarlin Library's Acceptable Use of Electronic Resources.