LibGuides: Biology Quick Guide: Biology

Top Choices for Biology Research

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window "Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 9,810 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc." -- EBSCO
BioOne This link opens in a new window BioOne is a collection of the full texts of various research journals focused on the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences. It "is the product of innovative collaboration between scientific societies, libraries, academe and the private sector. BioOne brings to the Web a uniquely valuable aggregation of the full-texts of high-impact bioscience research journals. Most of BioOne’s titles are published by small societies and non-commercial publishers, and, until now, have been available only in printed form. BioOne provides integrated, cost-effective access to a thoroughly linked information resource of interrelated journals focused on the biological, ecological and environmental sciences."
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window ScienceDirect is a major scientific database offering access to a large number peer-reviewed journal articles. It is part of Elsevier, the world's largest scientific, technical and medical publisher.
Scopus This link opens in a new window "Scopus covers more than 15,000 peer-reviewed journals in science, technology, medicine and social sciences from over 4,000 international publishers." Scopus includes "coverage of: Open Access journals, Conference Proceedings, Trade Publications and Book Series." -- Elsevier

Miscellaneous

Science.gov This link opens in a new window "Science.gov searches over 60 databases and over 2200 selected websites from 15 federal agencies, offering 200 million pages of authoritative U.S. government science information including research and development results." -- Science.gov website

Summon Quick Search

Search the library using Summon for books, ebooks, journal articles, DVDs, and other materials you need.

Search for Dissertations and Theses

ScienceDirect Quick Search

Search Scopus

Search for titles, abstracts and keywords

ProQuest Ebook Central Quick Search

Looking for a specific Journal?

Search here to see if McFarlin subscribes to a journal you need:

Google Scholar

Acceptable Use of Electronic Resources

IMPORTANT NOTICE: Systematic downloading of the licensed and copyrighted content of McFarlin Library's electronic resources, such as the use of scripted searches, download accelerators or web robots (i.e., "bots") of any kind, is STRICTLY PROHIBITED. You should download only the content you require for your immediate research needs or course assignment. For more information, please see McFarlin Library's Acceptable Use of Electronic Resources.