Academic Search CompleteThis link opens in a new window"Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 9,810 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc." -- EBSCO
JSTORThis link opens in a new windowJSTOR provides image and full-text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history and other fields of the humanities and social sciences.
SocINDEX with Full TextThis link opens in a new window"SocINDEX with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive and highest quality sociology research database. Its extensive scope and content provide users with a wealth of extremely useful information encompassing the broad spectrum of sociological study. The database features more than 2,066,400 records with subject headings from a 19,750+ term sociological thesaurus designed by subject experts and expert lexicographers. This product also contains informative abstracts for more than 1,200 "core" coverage journals dating as far back as 1895." -- EBSCO
"In addition, this file provides data mined from more than 510 "priority" coverage journals as well as from over 2,920 "selective" coverage journals. Extensive indexing for books/monographs, conference papers, and other non-periodical content sources is included. Searchable cited references are also provided. SocINDEX with Full Text offers comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. These include abortion, criminology & criminal justice, demography, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, rural & urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse & other addictions, violence and many others. In addition, SocINDEX with Full Text features over 25,000 Author Profiles covering the most prolific, most cited, and most frequently searched for authors in the database. Each author profile includes biographical data and bibliographic information, which together allow users to quickly ascertain an author's areas of expertise and academic/professional focus. All author profiles are updated on a routine basis as new information about each author becomes available. Moreover, profiles continue to be added for additional authors within the database on an ongoing basis. SocINDEX with Full Text contains full text for 777 journals dating back to 1908. This database also includes full text for more than 820 books and monographs, and full text for 13,947 conference papers." -- EBSCO
Newspaper Source PlusThis link opens in a new window"Newspaper Source Plus includes more than 860 full-text newspapers, providing more than 35 million full-text articles. The database contains comprehensive full text for major newspapers such as Christian Science Monitor, Irish Times (Ireland), San Francisco Chronicle, The Sydney Morning Herald (Australia), The Times (UK), Toronto Star, USA Today, The Washington Post, The Washington Times (DC), and others. All staff articles are also included from many newspapers, including: The Dallas Morning News, Houston Chronicle, Star Tribune (Minneapolis), The Philadelphia Inquirer, The Seattle Times, etc. In addition, Newspaper Source Plus features more than 857,000 television and radio news transcripts, including: ABC News (American Broadcasting Company), ABC (Australian Broadcasting Corporation), CBC (Canadian Broadcasting Corporation), CBS News, CNBC, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, MSNBC, National Public Radio, PBS, and more. " -- EBSCO
Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology OnlineThis link opens in a new window"BEOS contains clear, concise, expert definitions and explanations of the key concepts, entries ranging from short definitions of key terms to extended explorations of major topics, both classical sociology and contemporary developments in the field, and introductions to sociological theories and research that have developed outside of the United States and Western Europe." -- website
Definitions
Oxford Reference LibraryThis link opens in a new window"The Oxford Reference Library is made up of over 180 more specialized works including award-winning Oxford Companions and multi-volume Oxford Encyclopedias. These titles are fully cross-searchable with those in the Oxford Quick Reference collection, and provide longer, in-depth, academic content as well as essays and specialist definitions. Oxford Reference Library also brings a selection of scholarly titles from other prestigious publishers, such as Brewers and Continuum. " -- Oxford University Press
TU Libraries Quick Search
Search the library for books, ebooks, journal articles, DVDs, and other materials you need.
Search here to see if McFarlin subscribes to a journal you need:
Search for Dissertations and Theses
Google Scholar
Acceptable Use of Electronic Resources
IMPORTANT NOTICE: Systematic downloading of the licensed and copyrighted content of McFarlin Library's electronic resources, such as the use of scripted searches, download accelerators or web robots (i.e., "bots") of any kind, is STRICTLY PROHIBITED. You should download only the content you require for your immediate research needs or course assignment. For more information, please see McFarlin Library's Acceptable Use of Electronic Resources.
