Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Theatre: Theatrical Costumes

A guide to print and online resources available through McFarlin Library for drama, theater, dance, and the performing arts in general.

Theatarical Costume Collections

  • B. J. Simmons & Co. Costume Design for Stage and Screen, Harry Randsom Center, University of Texas
    The British theatrical costume company B. J. Simmons & Co. created stage costumes for hundreds of theater and film productions from 1857-1964, many have now been digitized.
  • Daphne Dare Collection, Ohio State University
    The Daphne Dare Collection at Ohio State University's provides over 1000 digitized images of British designer Daphne Dare's work for theatre, film, and television in the UK and the United States.
  • Motley Collection of Theatre & Costume Design
    The Motley Collection of Theatre and Costume Design is housed at the University of Urbana-Champaign. It consists of over 5000 pieces including costume and set designs. The collection documents 150 productions of Shakespeare and modern classics dating from 1932 to 1976, staged in England and the United States. The collection, most of it digitized, can be searched by play title, theater name, actor and director names, as well as medium.
  • Russian Theatre Designs from the Harvard Theatre Collection
    The entire collection of original Russian art work, including costume studies, in the Harvard Theatre Collection, which comprises approximately 650 theatrical designs and portraits has been digitized. Most of these are associated with productions of Diaghilev's Ballets Russes.

Theatrical Costume Design

The following book titles can be ordered through InterLibrary Loan:

 

 

Cover Art
Documenting: Costume Design
ISBN: 0932610234
Publication Date: 2010

Cover Art
Filmcraft: Costume Design - Deborah Nadoolman Landis
ISBN: 9780240818665
Publication Date: 2012-05-18

Cover Art
Hollywood Sketchbook: A Century of Costume Illustration - Deborah Nadoolman Landis
ISBN: 9780061984969
Publication Date: 2012-11-13

Cover Art
Staging Fashion, 1880-1920 - Michele Majer (Editor); Leonard Berlandstein (Contribution by); Sheila Stowell (Contribution by); Marlis Schweitzer (Contribution by)
ISBN: 9780300181135
Publication Date: 2012-02-21

Cover Art
The Ballet Russe de Monte Carlo, the Golden Age of Costume and Set Design 1938 to 1944 - Kristin L. Spangenberg (Compiled by); Cincinnati Art Museum Staff (Contribution by); Ballet Russe de Monte Carlo Staff (Contribution by); Jack Anderson
ISBN: 0931537231
Publication Date: 2007-04-26

Cover Art
The Ballets Russes and the Art of Design - Alston Purvis (Editor); Peter Rand (Editor); Anna Winestein (Editor)
ISBN: 9781580932547
Publication Date: 2009-12-01