Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
McFarlin Logo
Library Hours (Complete list of hours)
Monday - Thursday 9:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Friday 9:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Saturday Closed
Sunday Closed

Get Help

Theatre: Images and Media

A guide to print and online resources available through McFarlin Library for drama, theater, dance, and the performing arts in general.

Images

ARTstor
Over one million images, many from museum collections, searchable by keyword and browsable by medium, time period, etc. Register and log in to download JPEGs to your computer. Create your own details by zooming in and downloading JPEGs of zoomed-in views.

 

 

National Gallery of Art logog
National Gallery of Art Image Collections
The department of image collections is a study and research center for images of Western art and architecture at the National Gallery of Art. This resource is one of the largest of its kind, numbering almost 13 million photographs, slides, negatives, and microform images.

 

Harpers Bazaar
Issues from 1867-1900, digitized by Mann Library at Cornell University.

 

Library of Congress American Memory Project

American Memory is the gateway to 9 million digitized items organized into 100 thematic collections from the Library of Congress's vast resources that document U.S. History and culture.  Original formats include manuscripts, prints, photographs, posters, maps, sound recordings, motion pictures, books, pamphlets, and sheet music.

 

 

National Gallery of Art, NGA Images, Washington, D.C.

NGA Images is a repository of digital images of the collections of the National Gallery of Art.  On this website you can search, browse, share, and download images.  More than 20,000 open access digital images up to 3000 pixels each are available free of charge for download and use.

 

New York Public Library Picture Collection Online

 

New York Public Library Digital Gallery

 

 World Images

The internationally recognized WorldImages database provides access to the California State University IMAGE project.  It has just been selected by the Libarary of Congress for inclusion in its historic collection of Internet materials.  It contains approximately 80,000 images, is global in coverage and includes all areas of visual imagery.

 

 

Media

Naxos Music Library

Naxos Music Library [NML] is the world´s largest online classical music library.