Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Finding Backgroun Information
Industry Research Strategy
This is a selected guide for research on Industry Information in the McFarlin Library Collection.
Finding Background Information
To find articles about a particular industry, search the following electronic indexes:
Business Source Complete via EBSCOhost
Business Source Elite provides full text from over 1,020 journals covering business, management, economics, banking, finance, accounting and much more. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for nearly 1,560 journals. This database contains popular business publications such as Business Week, Forbes, and Harvard Business Review, and hundreds of scholarly, peer reviewed journals. Also included is Wall Street Words, a dictionary of financial terms, linked directly to words within the citations and full text.
Mergent Online's enhanced features and functions include the ability to:
- Research 15 years of detailed financial statements
- Customize viewing and output to retrieve precisely the information you need
- Export company reports and financials into software applications such as Microsoft® Word, Microsoft® Excel or Adobe® Acrobat® Reader®
- Execute accurate cross-border searches using a variety of financial and text variables
- Compare multiple companies' reports
- Access site via user ID or IP authentication
- View more than 115,000 images of company annual reports" -- Mergent website