Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
McFarlin Logo
Library Hours (Complete list of hours)
Monday - Thursday 9:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Friday 9:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Saturday Closed
Sunday Closed

Get Help

Master of Energy Business: Finding Background Information

This Library Research Guide will introduce library resources relevant to students enrolled in the Master of Energy Business Program

Finding Background Information

This is a selected guide for research on Company Information in the McFarlin Library Collection.

Finding Background Information

 

The following steps will help organize the research process:

  • develop an overview - use business directories
  • identify whether the company is public or private
  • look for company history
  • read financial disclosure reports
  • consider industry ratios, if relevant
  • establish corporate rankings, when relevant
  • browse periodical indexes to find articles
  • use newspaper indexes to find current articles
  • search Internet sources

To find information about company history, search the following online databases:

Business Source Complete via EBSCOhost

This is the world's definitive scholarly business database, providing the leading collection of bibliographic and full text content. As part of the comprehensive coverage offered by this database, indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back as far as 1886 are included. In addition to the searchable cited references provided for more than 1,200 journals.  

 

Mergent Online 

Mergent Online's enhanced features and functions include the ability to:

  • Research 15 years of detailed financial statements
  • Customize viewing and output to retrieve precisely the information you need
  • Export company reports and financials into software applications such as Microsoft® Word, Microsoft® Excel or Adobe® Acrobat® Reader®
  • Execute accurate cross-border searches using a variety of financial and text variables
  • Compare multiple companies' reports
  • Access site via user ID or IP authentication
  • View more than 115,000 images of company annual reports" -- Mergent website