Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
McFarlin Logo
Library Hours (Complete list of hours)
Monday - Thursday 9:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Friday 9:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Saturday Closed
Sunday Closed

Get Help

Master of Energy Business: Database search for Business related articles

This Library Research Guide will introduce library resources relevant to students enrolled in the Master of Energy Business Program

Check for Full Text

If the full text of an article isn't available from the database you're searching, look for a link that says something like "Check for full text at McFarlin Library" or maybe just "Full Text?" to see if it is available from the library in another database or maybe in print.

1. If you see a link under "Find the full text online", click on it to find the article in another McFarlin Library database.

2. If you see only a link under "Find it in print or another online source", write down the article title and date so that you can search for it in McFarlin's Journal List.

3. If you see a link under "McFarlin Library Catalog", click on that link to search for the item in Encore.  That means it's probably a book or a book chapter.

4. If you don't find what you're looking for in either the Journal List or Encore, then click on the appropriate Interlibrary Loan option to request the article from another library.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar Search

Online Sources for Business Resources

Finding Articles - Access journal articles dealing with business topics as it relates to the Energy Industry

 

Journal articles are important in your research. You should use periodical indexes to identify current journal articles published in the professional and scholarly literature on topics relevant to your research project. These databases can be subject-specific for in-depth research or can be more general in nature.

All indexes provide a citation, many provide an abstract, and a few provide the full text of the article.  If the article is not available in full text, you must use the Journal Titles List to find out if McFarlin Library subscribes or has access to the journal that published the article you need.

To find articles related to business, search the following databases:

ABI/Inform

This database is one of the most comprehensive business databases on the market. It includes in-depth coverage for thousands of publications, most of which are available in full text and the latest business and financial information for researchers at all levels.

Academic Search Complete via EBSCOhost

Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 4,600 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,500 journals and a total of nearly 10,000 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for nearly 1,000 journals. 

Business Source Complete via EBSCOhost

This is the world's definitive scholarly business database, providing the leading collection of bibliographic and full text content. As part of the comprehensive coverage offered by this database, indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back as far as 1886 are included. In addition to the searchable cited references provided for more than 1,200 journals. 

Nexis Uni

LexisNexis is a leading global provider of content-enabled workflow solutions designed specifically for professionals in the legal, risk management, corporate, government, law enforcement, accounting, and academic markets.

Mergent Online

Mergent Online is a subscription-based service offering 11,000 U.S. public companies and 17,000 non-U.S. public companies**. Mergent Online is  the preferred source for global business and financial information. Formerly known as Moody's Financial Information Services, Mergent has been publishing detailed business descriptions, corporate histories and financial statements since 1900."

 ** Frequently, information on privately held companies can be obtained by contacting the company directly.

 

Subject Guide

Rita Howell's picture
Rita Howell
Contact:
McFarlin Library, The University of Tulsa
2933 E. 6th St.
Tulsa, OK 74104-3123
rita-howell@utulsa.edu
918.631.2876