Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Government Documents & Information: Government Created

Information from the federal, state, local and international governments

Government created

Most of these indexing tools include some links to full text.

 

Metalib

   "A federated search engine that searches multiple U.S. Federal government databases, retrieving reports, articles, and citations while providing direct links to selected resources available online". The A-Z resource list gives a brief a description of the all the databases covered. The Metalib library will cross search most of the databases listed below plus many more. The help pages can explain the advanced search features.

DTIC - Defense Technical Reports

   "To provide essential, technical research, development, testing and evaluation (RDT&E) information rapidly,   accurately and reliably to support our DoD customers' needs". This database also  includes graduate research from the military academies and many FBIS/JPRS reports

ERIC

   A primary database of education research. It is still primarily an index even though full text has been added since the early 2000s.  McFarlin Library has the ERIC microfiche available on the Lower Level.

NASA Technical Reports Server

   "Provides access to aerospace-related citations, full-text online documents, and images and videos. The types of information include: conference papers, journal articles, meeting papers, patents, research reports, images, movies, and technical videos – scientific and technical information (STI) created or funded by NASA. McFarlin Library has many of  the Contractor Reports, Technical Memoranda, etc.that were made available to the depository community.

National Agricultural Library Digital Repository

   The NAL Digital Collections has been formed to help fulfill the NAL's mandate to: acquire and preserve substantive or essential information in the agricultural sciences, document United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) research, and serve as a national resource for agricultural information

National Criminal Justice Reference Service

   Established in 1972, the National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS) is a federally funded resource offering justice and drug-related information to support research, policy, and program development worldwide.

Science Gov

   "Science.gov searches over 60 databases and over 2200 selected websites from 15 federal agencies, offering 200 million pages of authoritative U.S. government science information including research and development results. "

SciTech Connect

   "A portal to free, publicly-available DOE-sponsored R&D results including technical reports, bibliographic citations, journal articles, conference papers, books, multimedia and data information. SciTech Connect is a consolidation of two core DOE search engines, the Information Bridge and the Energy Citations Database. SciTech Connect incorporates all of the R&D information from these two products into one search interface. SciTech Connect was developed by the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) Office of Scientific and Technical Information (OSTI) to increase access to science, technology, and engineering research information from DOE and its predecessor agencies."

Smithsonian Research Online

   "An ever-expanding collection of published research from Smithsonian scholars. It "has two primary components: a Research Bibliography of publication citations and a Digital Repository of full online editions"

Smithsonian Contributions and Studies Series

   A related database which includes full text of the Smithsonian contribtions to series, Annals of  Flight, Folklife Studies and Studies in Air and Space

TRID

  "An integrated database that combines the records from TRB’s Transportation Research Information Services (TRIS) Database and the OECD’s Joint Transport Research Centre’s International Transport Research Documentation (ITRD) Database. TRID provides access to more than one million records of transportation research worldwide". Some full text is available.

USAID Documents

   From the Development Experience Clearinghouse, "the largest online resource for USAID-funded technical and program documentation from more than 50 years of USAID's existence, with more than 155,000 documents available for viewing and electronic download"

USGS Publications Warehouse

   Provides access to publications written by USGS authors. There is an option to browse by publication type such as Professional papers, etc.