Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
McFarlin Logo
Library Hours (Complete list of hours)
Monday - Thursday 9:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Friday 9:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Saturday Closed
Sunday Closed

Get Help

Oklahoma History: Web Resources

Oklahoma history

On The Web

Each day, new full text collections of historical materials are added to the Web. Google Books is the most obvious example of this effort. More quietly, wonderful work is being done all over the country by librarians who have deep resources to mine for content. A few links that provide resources useful to the study of Oklahoma history:

Oklahoma Historical Society's Encyclopedia of Oklahoma History and Culture

This was created to commemorate the Oklahoma statehood centennial. The content includes signed articles covering all aspects of Oklahoma history. Each article contains a very useful bibliography.

Oklahoma Dept. of Libraries

Oklahoma Digital Prairie  contains the digital work of ODL. 

One Hundred Years of Oklahoma Governors includes entries for all governors since 1907. This  collection includes a biography, text of their State of the Union addresses, and finding aids to the materials in the ODL archives

Tulsa Race Riot includes letters, statements, arrest reports, affidavits, etc.

Oklahoma State University

The Chronicles of Oklahoma 

The first 40 volumes  which covers 1923 to 1962 transcribed or digitized . Tables of contents for vols. 41-80 (1963-2002) are also available. Published in cooperation with the Oklahoma Historical Society.

Oklahoma Today 

The official state magazine of the Oklahoma Dept. of tourism. Contents cover 1965  through November 2007 (as of Sept. 2008).

These two collections  and others can be cross-searched at the OSU Electronic Publishing Center website. Among the other resources there which would be included in such a search are: Kappler Indian Affiars: Laws and Treaties and Indian Claims Commission Decisions. The latter was produced in cooperation with the University of Tulsa School of Law.  

Tulsa City County Library

The library "collects, organized and preserves materials on the history of the area. The materials are available in the Oklahoma Room of the Central Library. The library is making the material available online also in their digital archives