Books are very useful sources of information when you're doing library research. Unlike journal articles, which tend to focus on a very specific topic, a book provides comprehensive coverage of a topic, placing the topic within its broader scholarly context as well as providing detailed information on the topic itself. That kind of breadth and depth is impossible in a short article. Scholarly books also provide extensive bibliographies that can help you identify relevant materials that you may want to look at for your own research.
The boxes below provide information and access to McFarlin Library resources that will help you identify and retrieve books related to your area of research in psychology and the law. Some will be available only in print, others are electronic. If you have any questions or problems, please reach out to the librarians: mcfarlinlibrary@utulsa.edu.
Here are some useful subject headings for searching in the library catalog:
If you wish to browse the bookstacks, here are some call numbers related to the study of psychology:
Search the library using Summon for books, ebooks, journal articles, DVDs, and other materials you need.
PsychiatryOnline is an important resource for all students of psychiatry and related mental health fields. It provides full text access to a variety of books, the DSM Library, which includes the Diagnostic And Statistical Manual Of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition, Text Revision (DSM-5-TR), and several professional journals, such as the American Journal of Psychiatry. The site is produced by American Psychiatric Publishing.
McFarlin Library has a premium site license at this resource, providing students with unlimited access to many of PsychiatryOnline's books, journals and assessment tools.
ProQuest's Ebook Central has over 200,000 academic ebooks from a variety of publishers on a wide range of topics and disciplines. You may read the ebooks in your browser or check them out and download them for offline reading on your laptop, tablet or phone (iOS or Android).
HINT: To search for an exact title, enclose the title in quotation marks: for example, "Diplomat in Carpet Slippers"
If you need assistance in using the ProQuest ebooks, please consult ProQuest's Ebook Central LibGuide which provides detailed instructions, including tutorials on using the online reader, and how to download ebooks. You may also contact the McFarlin Library Research Dept. The librarians will be happy to help!
IMPORTANT!
The license agreements between McFarlin Library and the private companies that produce our online resources require the library to limit off campus access to current TU students and faculty/staff. This means that when accessing library resources from off campus (including databases, electronic journals and electronic books) you will need to go into the resource either through the library's website, the catalog or one of the LibGuides.
When you click on the link for the resource, you will be prompted to enter your TUNetID and password. This verifies that you are a member of the TU community and therefore allowed to use the resource.
If you have any problems or questions, please feel free to Ask A Librarian.
Can't find what you need at McFarlin? Use these resources to locate books that may be available online or from other libraries. If you find a book you want:
