LibGuides: Sociology: A Guide to McFarlin Library Resources: Books &amp; E-books

How do I find a book I need?

Print Books: The area in which the print books are shelved (often called the bookstacks or stacks) is located in the West Wing of McFarlin Library. With the exception of the Lower Level, which is closed due to flood damage, the bookstacks are open to the public and you are free to browse them.

The library also offers a retrieval service. If you find a book you want, you may submit an online request for a book (or books). You'll be notified when the book is ready for you to come to the library for pick up at the Plaza Level Check-out Desk.

E-books: McFarlin has a substantial collection of electronic books. These are available online, 24/7. You will need to be a currently enrolled student in order to check these out. Many of these are on the ProQuest research database platform. ProQuest has an online help website devoted to providing support for users of these ebooks. Or you may contact the research librarians if you need assistance.

Sociology Call Numbers

Stacks Currently Closed to the Public

Request a book using the Online Book Request Form

HM 425 - Dict./Encyl.
HM 435-477- History
HM 478-479 Biography
HM 481-538 Theory
HM621-656 Culture
HM711- 753 Social Groups
HM756-781 Community
HN 1-981 Social History.
HQ 12-472 Family. Marriage.
HQ 755-759 Parents.
HQ 767 - 799 Children. Adolescents. Adults.
HQ 801 Man-Woman Rel.
HQ 811-831 Divorce
HQ 1075 - 2030 Sex Role, Men, Women

Discovery Quick Search for Books

Search the library for the books and ebooks and other research materials you need.

Advanced Search | Search the Mabee Legal Information Center (MLIC)

McFarlin Library's Ebooks

The library pays for access to other collections, such as ProQuest's Ebook Central.

ProQuest's Ebook Central has over 200,000 academic ebooks from a variety of publishers on a wide range of topics and disciplines. You may read the ebooks in your browser or check them out and download them for offline reading on your laptop, tablet or phone (iOS or Android).

HINT: To search for an exact title, enclose the title in quotation marks: for example, "Diplomat in Carpet Slippers"

If you need assistance in using the ProQuest ebooks, please consult ProQuest's Ebook Central LibGuide which provides detailed instructions, including tutorials on using the online reader, and how to download ebooks. You may also contact the Department of Instruction and Research. The librarians will be happy to help!

Look for More Books

Can't find what you need at McFarlin? Use these resources to locate books that may be available online or from other libraries. If you find a book you want:

Check the library catalog to be sure McFarlin doesn't have it
Then go to the Interlibrary Loan Department and request a copy

WorldCat This link opens in a new window
WorldCat (of which TU's Discovery is a part) contains all the records cataloged by OCLC member libraries, making it the largest database of library holdings in the world. More than 290,000,000 bibliographic records, representing more than 2,000,000,000 holdings from over 72,000 libraries in 170 countries with materials in over 470 languages, make up the database. It includes not only books, but also software, manuscripts, films, slides, music scores, newspapers, journals, videorecordings, magazines, and more.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window
"ProQuest Dissertations and Theses: Global (PQDTGlobal) is the world's most comprehensive collection of full-text dissertations and theses. As the official digital dissertations archive for the Library of Congress and as the database of record for graduate research, PQDTGlobal includes millions of searchable citations to dissertations and theses from 1861 to the present day together with over a million full-text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. Over 2.1 million titles are available for purchase as printed copies. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full-text coverage for older graduate works. It also includes PQDT UK & Ireland content." -- ProQuest

Tulsa City-County Library
Tulsa City-County Library System is the primary information and resource center for the Tulsa, Oklahoma, metropolitan area. More than 1.7 million volumes and numerous library services are available to the public. Services range from Internet access and on-line databases, to adult literacy tutoring and children's reading programs. The Central Library, four regional libraries, and 19 branch libraries in Tulsa County serve over 308,000 library cardholders who check out more than 3.7 million books and materials each year.