IMPORTANT NOTICE: Systematic downloading of the licensed and copyrighted content of McFarlin Library's electronic resources, such as the use of scripted searches, download accelerators or web robots (i.e., "bots") of any kind, is STRICTLY PROHIBITED. You should download only the content you require for your immediate research needs or course assignment. For more information, please see McFarlin Library's Acceptable Use of Electronic Resources.
Online Sources
Databases
American Museum of Natural History Research Library Digital RepositoryThis link opens in a new window"The AMNH Library Digital Repository is an archive maintained by the Research Library for AMNH Scientific Publications, AMNH scholarly output and other original and published materials digitized by the Library. All information in the repository is freely accessible to scholars around the world to support their research." -- AMNH
American Periodicals Series (Collection I)This link opens in a new window"APS Online spans over 1,500 titles and 7 million pages of content, from the first American magazines, published in 1741, to the World War II period-200 years of American history as recorded in magazines, journals, and newspapers." -- ProQuest
Anthropological Index OnlineThis link opens in a new window"The Library incorporates the former RAI library and receives regular donations of books and journals from the Institute. Its holdings include some 4,000 periodical titles (1,500 current) in all branches of anthropology from academic institutions and publishers around the world. Over 780 journals, published in more than 40 languages, are indexed on a continuing basis." -- from website
AnthroSourceThis link opens in a new window"AnthroSource is the premier online portal serving the needs of educators, students, researchers, and practitioners. An online service of AAA [American Anthropological Association], AnthroSource offers access to more than 100 years of anthropological knowledge. " -- Anthrosource website
British PeriodicalsThis link opens in a new window"British Periodicals traces the development and growth of the periodical press in Britain from its origins in the seventeenth century through to the Victorian 'age of periodicals' and beyond. On completion this unique digital archive will consist of almost 500 periodical runs published from the 1680s to the 1930s, comprising six million keyword-searchable pages and forming an unrivalled record of more than two centuries of British history and culture." -- ProQuest
IngentaConnectThis link opens in a new window"IngentaConnect is a website that hosts scholarly books and journals from a range of different publishers. Millions of articles, chapters and reports are available for you to search across, and access to full text is available by pay-per-view or by subscription to individual publications." -- Ingenta FAQ
JSTORThis link opens in a new windowJSTOR provides image and full-text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history and other fields of the humanities and social sciences.
Project MUSEThis link opens in a new window"Project MUSE is an online collection of over 300 scholarly journal titles in the arts, humanities, and social sciences from 40 university and society presses. MUSE journals cover many different subject areas including literature, history, political science, economics, education, film, philosophy, religion, women’s studies, and many more. MUSE provides full-text articles, reviews (books, performance, art, music, etc.), fiction and poetry, and enlargeable illustrations and photographs. Most articles are offered in both HTML and PDF formats. MUSE also provides informational pages covering editorial and submission information for the journals." -- Project Muse
"All journals participating in Project MUSE are peer-reviewed, scholarly titles. The basic criteria for participation in Muse are that the journal must be peer-reviewed, be published by a not-for-profit press or scholarly society, and be a sensible fit with titles in the humanities, the social sciences and the arts." -- Project Muse website
ScienceDirectThis link opens in a new windowScienceDirect is a major scientific database offering access to a large number peer-reviewed journal articles. It is part of Elsevier, the world's largest scientific, technical and medical publisher.
SpringerLINKThis link opens in a new windowSpringerLink is an information service that provides access to the full text of over hundreds of journals published by the Springer publishing group. "The SpringerLink Online Journal collection includes more than 1,200 peer-reviewed journals, comprising more than 600,000 individual documents. Most titles include complete back issues to 1996, with digital conversion of all back issues under way, making every title available from Volume I, Issue I." Subject areas covered by these journals include astronomy, chemical sciences, computer science, economics, engineering, environmental sciences, geosciences, life sciences, mathematics, medicine, and physics. LINK Search allows you to search the abstracts and bibliographic data for articles published in these journals.
Taylor & Francis OnlineThis link opens in a new window"Taylor & Francis Online is a one-stop site hosting journals, eBooks, abstract databases and reference works published by Taylor & Francis, Routledge, Psychology Press and others." -- website
National Archeological DatabaseThe National Archeological Database—a computerized communications network for the archeological and historic preservation community—was established to improve access to information on archeological activities nationwide. This internationally recognized resource is maintained through a cooperative agreement between NPS and the Center for Advanced Spatial Technologies (CAST) at the University of Arkansas.
Books and Dissertations
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses GlobalThis link opens in a new window"ProQuest Dissertations and Theses: Global (PQDTGlobal) is the world's most comprehensive collection of full-text dissertations and theses. As the official digital dissertations archive for the Library of Congress and as the database of record for graduate research, PQDTGlobal includes millions of searchable citations to dissertations and theses from 1861 to the present day together with over a million full-text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. Over 2.1 million titles are available for purchase as printed copies. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full-text coverage for older graduate works. It also includes PQDT UK & Ireland content." -- ProQuest
WorldCatThis link opens in a new windowWorldCat (of which TU's Discovery is a part) contains all the records cataloged by OCLC member libraries, making it the largest database of library holdings in the world. More than 290,000,000 bibliographic records, representing more than 2,000,000,000 holdings from over 72,000 libraries in 170 countries with materials in over 470 languages, make up the database. It includes not only books, but also software, manuscripts, films, slides, music scores, newspapers, journals, videorecordings, magazines, and more.
WorldCat Dissertations and ThesesThis link opens in a new window"This database contains records for over 5 million items cataloged as dissertations, theses, or published materials based on theses or dissertations, in WorldCat, including titles provided by NetLibrary. The database allows users to quickly and efficiently retrieve records for theses and dissertations." -- OCLC
Oxford Reference LibraryThis link opens in a new window"The Oxford Reference Library is made up of over 180 more specialized works including award-winning Oxford Companions and multi-volume Oxford Encyclopedias. These titles are fully cross-searchable with those in the Oxford Quick Reference collection, and provide longer, in-depth, academic content as well as essays and specialist definitions. Oxford Reference Library also brings a selection of scholarly titles from other prestigious publishers, such as Brewers and Continuum. " -- Oxford University Press
