Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
McFarlin Logo
Library Hours (Complete list of hours)
Monday - Thursday 9:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Friday 9:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Saturday Closed
Sunday Closed

Get Help

Physician Assistant Studies: Books and More

This Library Research Guide will introduce library resources relevant to students enrolled in the joint OU/TU Physician Assistant Program

Where are the Books?

Most of the circulating books (those you can check out and take home with your) are located on the Main Level and the south and west sides of the Intermediate Level in McFarlin Library's west wing.

Books related to the Health Sciences, including Medicine, Nursing and related topics, have call numbers beginning with the letter "R". The letters and numbers that follow indicate the specific subject area. For example:

  • R: Medcine (General)
  • R131-684: History of Medicine
  • RA: Public Aspects of Medicine
  • RA1001-1171: Forensic Medicine
  • RB: Pathology
  • RC: Internal Medicine
  • RD: Surgery
  • RD92-96: Wounds and injuries
  • RJ: Pediatrics
  • RM: Pharmacology
  • RM300-666: Drugs and their action
  • RT1-120: Nursing
  • RT89-120: Specialties in Nursing
  • RZ: Other systems of medicine
  • RZ201-265: Chiropractic

Please don't hesitate to visit the Reference Desk if you need assistance in locating a book.

TU Catalog Quick Search

 

Stack of library books
Search the library catalog using Encore for print books, ebooks, DVDs, and other materials you need.

 

Off Campus Access

Off-campus access to McFarlin Library databases is not available to PA students.  You will need to come to McFarlin Library in order to use these electronic resources.

If you require off-campus access to online research materials, you will need to use the OU-Tulsa Library.

McFarlin Library's Ebooks

McFarlin Library provides you with access to a large number of ebook (electronic book) collections.  These include reference (quick information) books, classic literature, academic/scholarly publications, fiction, biographies, and more. 

Some ebooks are from free collections, such as Project Gutenberg or ManyBooks.  These are generally works in the public domain, usually published before about 1923, and have few if any restrictions on their use.

Search ALL McFarlin E-books by title:

   


The library pays for access to other collections, such as the EBSCOhost eBook Collection.

Search only EBSCO eBooks


The EBSCOhost eBook Collection brings you tens of thousands of recently published, academically-oriented ebooks. You can search for a particular book by title, author, or keyword or search the content of individual titles.  You can also browse the collection by broad subject area, such as "Business & Economics", "Sciences", "Literature & Criticism", etc.

You may read the EBSCOhost ebooks online or download most of them to your PC or ereader. (These are recent, copyrighted works and their use is determined by the company that owns the copyright.)

If you need assistance in using the EBSCO ebooks, please consult the EBSCO Ebooks Support Center which provides detailed instructions, including a step-by-step video tutorial on how to check out and download EBSCO ebooks.  You may also contact the McFarlin Library Research Dept.  The librarians will be happy to help!