LibGuides: Nursing: A Guide to McFarlin Library Resources: Encyclopedias & More

Encyclopedias, Dictionaries and Other Online Reference Sources

Consumer Health Complete This link opens in a new window "Consumer Health Complete™ (CHC) is the single most comprehensive resource for consumer-oriented health content. It is designed to support the information needs of patients, and to foster an overall understanding of health-related topics." -- EBSCO
CHC provides content covering all areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated medicine. This full-text database covers topics such as aging, cancer, diabetes, drugs & alcohol, fitness, nutrition & dietetics, children's health, men & women's health, etc.
CHC offers a unique search interface designed to call attention to the full text content available from many important source-types, and to provide an intuitive means for searching this specific information.
Information provided in this database should not be viewed as a means for self-diagnosis or a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis or treatment. -- EBSCO

Drug Information Portal Quick access to information on over 12,000 drugs, provided by the National Institutes of Health.

Health, United States This link opens in a new window Health, United States presents national trends in health statistics on such topics as birth and death rates, infant mortality, life expectancy, morbidity and health status, risk factors, use of ambulatory and inpatient care, health personnel and facilities, financing of health care, health insurance and managed care, and other health topics. The report includes a chartbook and trend tables that may be viewed and printed using Adobe Acrobat. Trend tables are also available as downloadable spreadsheet files for data manipulation or graphical analysis. Data trends may be more complete in spreadsheet files than in pdf files." -- Centers for Disease Control and Prevention

MedBioWorld™ "MedBioWorld™ [is] the largest medical and bioscience information resource and reference site on the Internet …"
Merck Manual Consumer Version One of the world's most heavily used medical reference sources.

National Center for Health Statistics This link opens in a new window "The mission of the National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS) is to provide statistical information that will guide actions and policies to improve the health of the American people. As the Nation's principal health statistics agency, NCHS leads the way with accurate, relevant, and timely data." -- website

Oxford Dictionary of Nursing "The Dictionary provides readers with a comprehensive treatment of the ever-expanding vocabulary of the nursing professions." -- Oxford Reference Online

Salem Health (via TCCL) This link opens in a new window Not licensed for classroom usage, only licensed for personal usage"Access to these e-reference books from Salem Health: Psychology & Mental Health, Cancer, Complementary & Alternative Medicine, Infectious Diseases & Conditions" -- TCCL
This resource is provided by the Tulsa City-County Library. In order to access it you must have a valid public library card. Your TU login will not work. If you do not have a library card you may apply online for one by clicking here.

Oxford Reference Online is a collection of online encyclopedias and other reference sources.

You may also browse through all the titles in Oxford Reference related to medicine.