It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Nursing: A Guide to McFarlin Library Resources: Find More Articles
This Nursing Research Guide will introduce you to the sources available at McFarlin Library for conducting research in the Nursing and Allied Health field.
The databases listed on this page will help you locate articles in disciplines connected in some way to nursing and the health sciences.
For example, if you're interested in pediatrics, try ERIC which focuses on education and children. PsycINFO covers psychology and related fields. If you're looking for cultural information, take a look at SocINDEX.
There are many nursing topics where you can find relevant information by going outside the usual "nursing databases".
"Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 9,810 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc." -- EBSCO
ERIC, the U.S. Department of Education’s Educational Resource Information Center database, contains citations and abstracts for published articles from over 980 educational and education-related journals.
In addition, ERIC collects and distributes a huge variety of print material (much of it unpublished) that relates to education. These "ERIC Documents" include research reports, program descriptions, surveys, curriculum guides and other instructional materials, conference papers, and much more. Many ERIC Documents issued since 1966 are available full text through the EBSCOhost version of ERIC. (Look for a Full Text from ERIC link.) These documents may also be available on the Lower Level of McFarlin Library in the ERIC Document microfiche collection. This database also contains the full text of more than 2,200 digests along with references for additional information.
"This database is the world's largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. Produced by the American Psychological Association, it is an indispensable tool for the discovery of global scholarly research." -- EBSCO
"SocINDEX with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive and highest quality sociology research database. Its extensive scope and content provide users with a wealth of extremely useful information encompassing the broad spectrum of sociological study. The database features more than 2,066,400 records with subject headings from a 19,750+ term sociological thesaurus designed by subject experts and expert lexicographers. This product also contains informative abstracts for more than 1,200 "core" coverage journals dating as far back as 1895." -- EBSCO
"In addition, this file provides data mined from more than 510 "priority" coverage journals as well as from over 2,920 "selective" coverage journals. Extensive indexing for books/monographs, conference papers, and other non-periodical content sources is included. Searchable cited references are also provided. SocINDEX with Full Text offers comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. These include abortion, criminology & criminal justice, demography, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, rural & urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse & other addictions, violence and many others. In addition, SocINDEX with Full Text features over 25,000 Author Profiles covering the most prolific, most cited, and most frequently searched for authors in the database. Each author profile includes biographical data and bibliographic information, which together allow users to quickly ascertain an author's areas of expertise and academic/professional focus. All author profiles are updated on a routine basis as new information about each author becomes available. Moreover, profiles continue to be added for additional authors within the database on an ongoing basis. SocINDEX with Full Text contains full text for 777 journals dating back to 1908. This database also includes full text for more than 820 books and monographs, and full text for 13,947 conference papers." -- EBSCO
"SPORTDiscus™ with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive source of full text for sports & sports medicine journals, providing full text for more than 490 journals indexed in SPORTDiscus. Of those, 337 are not found with full text in any version of Academic Search™ or Health Source®." -- EBSCO
"This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the SPORTDiscus index - with no embargo. With full-text coverage dating back to 1985, SPORTDiscus with Full Text is the definitive research tool for all areas of sports & sports medicine literature." -- EBSCO
Finding McFariln's Journals
Search here to see if McFarlin subscribes to a journal you need: