It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Media Studies Quick Guide: Media Studies
This LibGuide provides quick access to some of the major resources for doing research at McFarlin Library.
Communication & Mass Media CompleteThis link opens in a new window"Communication & Mass Media Complete . . . provides the most robust, quality research solution in areas related to communication and mass media. CMMC incorporates the content of CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study to create a research and reference resource of unprecedented scope and depth encompassing the breadth of the communication discipline. CMMC offers cover-to-cover (“core”) indexing and abstracts for more than 500 journals, and selected (“priority”) coverage of nearly 200 more, for a combined coverage of 690 titles." -- EBSCO
"Furthermore, this database includes full text for 380 journals. Many major journals have indexing, abstracts, PDFs and searchable cited references from their first issues to the present (dating as far back as 1915). CMMC contains a sophisticated Communication Thesaurus and comprehensive reference browsing (i.e. searchable cited references for peer-reviewed journals covered as “core”). In addition, CMMC features over 5,000 Author Profiles, providing biographical data and bibliographic information, and covering the most prolific, most cited, and most frequently searched for authors in the database. To further develop and enhance this database, EBSCO has established two working groups of expert advisors represented by leading librarians, bibliographers, and professionals in the areas of communication and mass media." -- EBSCO
Film & Television Literature Index with Full TextThis link opens in a new window"Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text is the definitive online tool for film and television research. It is a comprehensive bibliographic and full-text database covering the entire spectrum of television and film. Subject coverage includes film & television theory, preservation & restoration, screenwriting, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews. The database provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for 370 publications (and selected coverage for over 250), as well as full text for more than 100 journals, and nearly 100 books, over 36,300 images from the MPTV Image Archive, and Variety Movie Reviews from 1914 to present." -- EBSCO
Academic Search CompleteThis link opens in a new window"Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 9,810 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc." -- EBSCO
Business Source CompleteThis link opens in a new window"Business Source Complete is the world's definitive scholarly business database, providing the leading collection of bibliographic and full text content. As part of the comprehensive coverage offered by this database, indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back as far as 1886 are included. In addition to the searchable cited references provided for more than 1,300 journals, Business Source Complete contains detailed author profiles for the 40,000 most-cited authors in the database. Journal ranking studies reveal that Business Source Complete is the overwhelmingly superior database for full text journals in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics." Additional full text content includes:
JSTOR Arts and Sciences CollectionsThis link opens in a new windowJSTOR provides image and full-text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, demography, mathematics and other fields of the humanities and social sciences. This database is valuable because "the complete backfiles of these core scholarly journals have been digitized, starting with the very first issues, many of which date from the 1800s. Over 4 million pages are now available. New titles and fields are being added constantly. Issues of journals are never "out"; they are always accessible, and in pristine condition." Consult the online tables of contents for holdings, as coverage varies for each title.
Communication & Mass Media Complete Quick Search
Search for Dissertations and Theses
Summon Quick Search
Search the library using Summon for books, ebooks, journal articles, DVDs, and other materials you need.
ProQuest Ebook Central Quick Search
Looking for a Journal?
Search here to see if McFarlin subscribes to a journal you need:
Acceptable Use of Electronic Resources
IMPORTANT NOTICE: Systematic downloading of the licensed and copyrighted content of McFarlin Library's electronic resources, such as the use of scripted searches, download accelerators or web robots (i.e., "bots") of any kind, is STRICTLY PROHIBITED. You should download only the content you require for your immediate research needs or course assignment. For more information, please see McFarlin Library's Acceptable Use of Electronic Resources.