|
|
Education is a dynamic and multifaceted field dedicated to understanding the processes and methods of teaching and learning across diverse settings, from early childhood to higher education. It encompasses a broad range of specializations, including curriculum development, educational psychology, administration, and instructional technology, all aimed at improving educational outcomes and fostering lifelong learning.
This Library Research Guide will provide information about and access to some of the most significant research materials available from McFarlin Library related to Education. The tabs above cover research options such as:
|
Selecting a research topic is much like deciding on a travel destination. Once you have narrowed your ideas to an interesting subject, write down a brief statement about this topic. For example: "Rock groups of the 60s, their popularity and major influence on the music industry." Once the topic is selected, write down specific questions that you'll want to answer. The research process will drive your destination. Your original topic may develop into something entirely different. You may choose to follow an alternate path and go down a different road.
After determining the topic, you can map out your route. You must identify the types of sources that will provide the information needed, then determine where to find these sources. Types of sources that should be considered include books, periodicals, the Internet, and other libraries (through interlibrary loan).
The key to finding books is the online library catalog called Discovery. Search in Discovery by selecting a keyword that best describes your topic. You can also search by title, author, subject, or keyword. In addition to books, the catalog allows you to search for periodicals, government documents, audiovisual material, and Special Collections.
If you get lost during your sight-seeing trip, stop and ask directions. The following reference sources will be most useful to acquire quick answers to any questions you may have.
Begin with Encyclopedias, then to get off the main drag, use Subject Encyclopedias.
What does it mean? Use a Dictionary.
How much, how many? Find Statistical Information.
Who? Find Biographical Information.
How can I get in touch? Use a Directory.
Where do I go from here? Bibliographies.
Periodicals include newspapers, magazines, and journals. They are published regularly, daily, weekly, monthly, quarterly. Journals are periodicals containing articles written by experts in a particular field of study. If the researcher wrote the article, is it a primary source. If reporters write the article, such as in popular magazines, it is a secondary source. Typically, journal articles contain extensive bibliographies that lead to additional sources.
Journal List - If there is a specific journal that you are looking for, this will take you directly to McFarlin's holdings.
Discovery - If there is a specific article that you are looking for, you can search Summon with that article's title.
Database List - If you don't have a specific journal or article in mind, then McFarlin's databases will allow you to search multiple journals with a keyword.
Education majors at universities write in a variety of genres designed to prepare them for effective teaching and professional communication within the educational community. These assignments often include reflective, persuasive, analytic, and procedural writing that encourages critical thinking and practical skill development. Common formats such as lesson plans, research papers, and personal reflections help students connect educational theory to real-world classroom practice. These writings include the following:
Research Papers
Research papers require students to investigate educational theories, classroom practices, or specific student populations using scholarly resources. These assignments develop critical thinking skills as students must gather evidence, formulate arguments, and document their sources to contribute to an ongoing educational conversation. The process often involves synthesizing a range of perspectives and drawing informed conclusions about practical or theoretical issues in education.
Lesson Plans
Lesson plans are detailed documents outlining instructional goals, learning activities, materials, and assessments for a specific class session or unit. Writing lesson plans helps future educators practice designing effective, standards-aligned learning experiences while considering student needs and classroom management. Students must clearly articulate instructional objectives and pacing, ensuring that lessons are both measurable and adaptable.
Reflections and Personal Statements
Reflection assignments prompt students to analyze classroom observations, educational readings, or field experiences, often connecting theory to personal experience. These assignments foster deeper self-awareness and professional growth by requiring students to critically assess their own beliefs, biases, and teaching philosophies. Personal statements may also be used for applications to programs, scholarships, or student teaching placements, allowing students to highlight growth and articulate goals.
Project or Grant Proposals
Project or grant proposals teach students how to advocate for educational innovations or improvements by outlining a plan, rationale, budget, and anticipated outcomes. These assignments simulate real-world scenarios like applying for school funding or implementing new programs, requiring clarity, organization, and persuasive writing. Proposals often involve defining a need, proposing a solution, and justifying the approach with evidence and feasibility.
In Education, as in other fields of study, it is very important that you cite the sources that you use to form and articulate your ideas. Educators follow the American Psychological Association (APA) citation format.
The link above will take you to the citation guide created by the Writing Center. Your professor should tell you what citation style you will be using for their class; if you aren't sure which style you should be using, please ask your professor.
For an excellent and free citation management software option, check out our page on Zotero.
For a quick and easy citation generator, try ZBib by Zotero.
