LibGuides: Pol 2043: Politics & Culture of China: Newspaper Articles

Current Newspapers

New York Times This link opens in a new window
Whether you’re writing a paper or planning for the weekend ahead, discover original, quality journalism that helps you understand the world — and make the most of every part of life — with The New York Times, often called the nation's "newspaper of record".
To access The New York Times you will need to create a FREE account while you're on the TU campus: accessnyt.com. Once you've created your account, you'll be able to access it from anywhere in the world. You may also download The New York Times mobile app and sign in on that. Once activated, a faculty account is valid for 1456 days and can be easily renewed simply by re-entering the email address at accessnyt.com. A student account is valid until graduation.
Washington Post This link opens in a new window
McFarlin Library provides FREE digital subscriptions to The Washington Post. With this subscription you will receive:
- Unlimited digital access to WashingtonPost.com and on all apps.
- Expert reporting and analysis from Washington and around the world, including award-winning investigative coverage and editorial commentary.
- Real-time Q&A Discussions providing a behind the scenes look at key stories.
- Live-streaming of The Washington Post Live events, where top-level government and business leaders, emerging voices and newsmakers discuss the most pressing national and global issues of the day.
Here are complete instructions on creating your account and activating your digital subscription.
NOTE: Available only to current TU students, faculty and staff.
Tulsa World Collection (via TCCL) This link opens in a new window
Not licensed for classroom usage, only licensed for personal usage
"Explore Tulsa history through local news, events and people with the Tulsa World Collection. Search current and archived issues with full-color newspaper pages, full-text articles and content only published online." -- TCCL
This resource is provided by the Tulsa City-County Library. In order to access it you must have a valid public library card. Your TU login will not work. If you do not have a library card you may apply online for one by clicking here.

Current Newspaper Databases

America's Newspapers (via TCCL) This link opens in a new window
Not licensed for classroom usage, only licensed for personal usage
"This comprehensive news collection is ideal for exploring issues and events at the local, regional, national and international level. Its diverse source types include print and online-only newspapers, blogs, newswires, journals, broadcast transcripts and videos. Use it to explore a specific event or to compare a wide variety of viewpoints on topics such as politics, business, health, sports, cultural activities and people. Content is easily searched and sorted through an intuitive, map-based interface." -- NewBank
This resource is provided by the Tulsa City-County Library. In order to access it you must have a valid public library card. Your TU login will not work. If you do not have a library card you may apply online for one by clicking here.
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
"Newspaper Source Plus includes more than 860 full-text newspapers, providing more than 35 million full-text articles. The database contains comprehensive full text for major newspapers such as Christian Science Monitor, Irish Times (Ireland), San Francisco Chronicle, The Sydney Morning Herald (Australia), The Times (UK), Toronto Star, USA Today, The Washington Post, The Washington Times (DC), and others. All staff articles are also included from many newspapers, including: The Dallas Morning News, Houston Chronicle, Star Tribune (Minneapolis), The Philadelphia Inquirer, The Seattle Times, etc. In addition, Newspaper Source Plus features more than 857,000 television and radio news transcripts, including: ABC News (American Broadcasting Company), ABC (Australian Broadcasting Corporation), CBC (Canadian Broadcasting Corporation), CBS News, CNBC, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, MSNBC, National Public Radio, PBS, and more. " -- EBSCO
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
"Nexis Uni features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources, including print and online journals, television and radio broadcasts, newswires and blogs; local, regional, national and international newspapers with deep archives; extensive legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1790; unparalleled business information on more than 80 million U.S. and international companies and more than 75 million executives." -- LexisNexis
PressReader [Digital Newspapers] (via TCCL) This link opens in a new window
Not licensed for classroom usage, only licensed for personal usage
"PressDisplay provides digital versions of over 2000 newspapers from 100+ countries in 55+ languages that you can read online. These digital newspapers ("eNewspapers") are full-print, full-color duplicates of the print newspapers, containing every article, advertisement, crossword puzzle and cartoon. PressDisplay allows you to read online using any web browser without any additional software or plugin installation." -- TCCL
This resource is provided by the Tulsa City-County Library. In order to access it you must have a valid public library card. Your TU login will not work. If you do not have a library card you may apply online for one by clicking here.

All Newspaper Databases
Get a list of all online newspapers and newspaper databases available through McFarlin Library.

Historical Newspapers

America's Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
"Early American Newspapers, Series 1, 1690-1876 offers 350,000 fully searchable issues from over 710 historical American newspapers. Focusing largely on the 18th and early 19th centuries, this online collection is based on Clarence S. Brigham’s “History and Bibliography of American Newspapers, 1690-1820” and other authoritative bibliographies. Providing unprecedented access to the nation’s early periods, Early American Newspapers, Series 1 enables researchers to explore essential newspapers from 23 states and the District of Columbia. " -- NewsBank
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers This link opens in a new window
"Chronicling America is a Website providing access to information about historic newspapers and select digitized newspaper pages, and is produced by the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP). NDNP, a partnership between the National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH) and the Library of Congress (LC), is a long-term effort to develop an Internet-based, searchable database of U.S. newspapers with descriptive information and select digitization of historic pages. Supported by NEH, this rich digital resource will be developed and permanently maintained at the Library of Congress. An NEH award program will fund the contribution of content from, eventually, all U.S. states and territories." -- Library of Congress
Historical U.S. Newspapers Online This link opens in a new window
"This table provides a list of historical U.S. newspapers that are available online at no cost. Newspapers available for free through Google News Historical Archives and Newspaperarchives.com are listed individually. Newspapers available through Chronicling America and state digitization projects are usually listed as a group." -- website
Times Digital Archive, 1785-2014 This link opens in a new window
"Researchers can search through the complete digital edition of The Times (London), using keyword searching and hit-term highlighting to retrieve full facsimile images of either a specific article or a complete page. The entire newspaper is captured, with all articles, advertisements and illustrations/photos divided into categories to facilitate searching." -- Gale
NOTE: Does NOT include the Sunday Times.
Trove (Digitized Australian newspapers) This link opens in a new window
"The long-term objective of the Australian Newspaper Digitisation Program (ANDP) is to make freely available online through Trove, as many Australian newspapers published as possible. The newspapers are digitised in a standard format which supports long-term access and full-text searching of articles.
Trove provides access to over 18.5 million pages from over 1000 Australian newspapers. Newly digitised articles are added daily. Digitised newspapers and more on Trove includes newspapers from each state and territory and from the earliest published newspaper in 1803, to the mid-20th century, including some community language newspapers. " -- National Library of Australia

Pol 2043: Politics & Culture of China: Newspaper Articles

Finding Articles in Newspapers

Current Newspapers

Current Newspaper Databases

Historical Newspapers