Skip to Main Content

Pol 3863: China and the World: Home

Welcome to McFarlin Library!

China on the globe (claimed hatched) (Asia centered)

This library research guide will introduce you to some of the materials available from McFarlin that should help you in your research for Pol 3863: China and the World.  It focuses on resources in the Library that will help in researching China, its foreign policy and relations with other nations.

Please note the tabs above:

  • Books and More: Locate books, both in print and electronic.
  • Journal Articles: Information on locating published articles in McFarlin Library, including:
    • Newspaper articles: material published in leading newspapers
    • Academic articles: material published in scholarly journals
  • Zotero: Learn more about TU's citation management software, available free to all TU students.
  • Need More Help?: Who to contact for additional assistance with your research topic.

You might also wish to consult McFarlin Library's Research Guides to History and Political Science.  They will provide you with additional information and resources that may help with your research.

Quick Videos

Below is a series of short video introductions to Library research resources for POL 3863: China and the World with Electronic Resources Librarian Charles Brooks.

  1. Introduction to the McFarlin Library Website (05:25)
    This is a brief video introduction to the library's website and some of the services the library provides to students.
  2. Finding books in Summon (05:21)
    Brief demo showing how to locate both book and ebook in Summon on a specific research topic related to China.
  3. Introducing the Library Research Databases (03:14)
    This video introduces the library's database, the database list, and the Pol 3863 Course Research Guide.
  4. Close-Up on ProQuest One Business (06:16)
    This video introduces and provides a short demo of ProQuest One Business.
  5. Close-Up on EBSCOhost (10:53)
    This video provides a brief introduction to EBSCOhost and a demo of Academic Search Complete.
  6. Close-Up on Other Databases (11:10)
    This video provide brief overviews of JSTOR, newspaper databases, and how to use Google Scholar in conjunction with McFarlin Library.
  7. Close-Up on Zotero (05:25)
    Provides a brief introduction to the Zotero "citation management software" and to zbib.org.

More Awesome Resources

Quick Tip Videos