LibGuides: Medicine Quick Guide: Medical Databases

Top Choices for Medicine & Sports Medicine

AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window "AccessMedicine from McGraw-Hill Medical is a comprehensive online medical resource that provides a complete spectrum of knowledge from the best minds in medicine, with essential information accessible anywhere. Authoritative, trusted, and continuously updated with optimized content for any mobile device, AccessMedicine is guided by a preeminent Advisory Board that includes the medical field’s top academic experts. AccessMedicine provides medical students with a variety of resources needed to excel in basic science studies and clerkships; helps residents, nurse practitioners, and physician assistants with instant access to videos, self-assessment, and leading medical textbooks that facilitate decision-making at the point-of-care; and allows practicing physicians to brush up on their medical knowledge to ensure the best patient outcome." -- AccessMedicine websiteThe Access app is also available, optimized for use on tablets and phones:Download on the App StoreGet it on Google Play
MEDLINE This link opens in a new window "MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine,nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 4,800 current biomedical journals. Included are citations from Index Medicus, International Nursing Index, Index to Dental Literature, HISTLINE, SPACELINE, PREMEDLINE, AIDSLINE, BIOETHICSLINE, and HealthSTAR." -- EBSCO
MEDLINE Plus Health Information This link opens in a new window "MedlinePlus is the National Institutes of Health's Web site for patients and their families and friends. Produced by the National Library of Medicine, it brings you information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues in language you can understand. MedlinePlus offers reliable, up-to-date health information, anytime, anywhere, for free." -- National Library of Medicine
"You can use MedlinePlus to learn about the latest treatments, look up information on a drug or supplement, find out the meanings of words, or view medical videos or illustrations. You can also get links to the latest medical research on your topic or find out about clinical trials on a disease or condition." -- National Library of Medicine
PubMed Central This link opens in a new window "PubMed Central is a free digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health (NIH), developed and managed by NIH's National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) in the National Library of Medicine (NLM). With PubMed Central, NLM has taken the lead in preserving and maintaining access to the electronic literature, just as it has done for decades with the printed biomedical literature. PubMed Central aims to fill the role of a world class library in the digital age. It is not a journal publisher. NLM believes that giving all users free access to the material in PubMed Central is the best way to ensure the durability and utility of the archive as technology changes over time." -- NLM
SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new window "SPORTDiscus™ with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive source of full text for sports & sports medicine journals, providing full text for more than 490 journals indexed in SPORTDiscus. Of those, 337 are not found with full text in any version of Academic Search™ or Health Source®." -- EBSCO
"This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the SPORTDiscus index - with no embargo. With full-text coverage dating back to 1985, SPORTDiscus with Full Text is the definitive research tool for all areas of sports & sports medicine literature." -- EBSCO

More Health Sciences Databases

AccessAnesthesiology This link opens in a new window "AccessAnesthesiology from McGraw-Hill Medical offers a new approach to anesthesiology reference, research, and curricular instruction – all in one place. Updated regularly, this comprehensive online anesthesiology resource covers the entire spectrum of anesthesiology from the basics to specialty-specific content -– optimized for viewing on any device. AccessAnesthesiology provides unique benefits that deliver indispensable support in resident education and certification/recertification in pain management, critical care, and perioperative medicine – through these exclusive interactive features: leading anesthesiology textbooks, multimedia, interactive self-assessment, practice guidelines, an integrated drug database, and more than 100 patient cases." -- websiteThe Access app is also available, optimized for use on tablets and phones:Download on the App StoreGet it on Google Play
Case Files Collection This link opens in a new window "The Case Files® Collection provides premier case content with the goal of improving learning outcomes through exposure to clinical cases. The Case Files® Collection features: The complete collection of basic science, clinical medicine, and post-graduate level cases from 23 Case Files® series books; An interactive format to help students learn and retain knowledge through exposure to realistic patient cases; Personalized functionality to let users mark their progress through completed and unseen cases." -- AccessMedicine websiteThe Access app is also available, optimized for use on tablets and phones:Download on the App StoreGet it on Google Play
CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window "CINAHL®Complete is the world's most comprehensive nursing & allied health research database, providing full text for more than 1,300 journals indexed in CINAHL®. Of those, 822 are not found with full text in any version of Academic Search™, Health Source® or Nursing & Allied Health Collection™. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index, with no embargo." -- EBSCO
Consumer Health Complete This link opens in a new window "Consumer Health Complete™ (CHC) is the single most comprehensive resource for consumer-oriented health content. It is designed to support the information needs of patients, and to foster an overall understanding of health-related topics." -- EBSCO
CHC provides content covering all areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated medicine. This full-text database covers topics such as aging, cancer, diabetes, drugs & alcohol, fitness, nutrition & dietetics, children's health, men & women's health, etc.
CHC offers a unique search interface designed to call attention to the full text content available from many important source-types, and to provide an intuitive means for searching this specific information.
Information provided in this database should not be viewed as a means for self-diagnosis or a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis or treatment. -- EBSCO
Health Source: Consumer Edition This link opens in a new window "Health Source: Consumer Edition is a rich collection of consumer health information. This resource provides access to nearly 80 full text, consumer health magazines, including American Fitness, Better Nutrition, Fit Pregnancy, Harvard Health Letter, HealthFacts, Men's Health, Muscle & Fitness, Prevention, Vegetarian Times, and many others." -- EBSCO
"This database also includes searchable full text for more than 1,000 health-related pamphlets and more than 130 health reference books, including books published by the People's Medical Society. Additionally, Health Source: Consumer Edition contains more than 4,500 Clinical Reference Systems reports (in English and Spanish); Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names; and Merriam-Webster's Medical Desk Dictionary. Health Source: Consumer Edition covers topics such as AIDS, cancer, diabetes, drugs & alcohol, aging, fitness, nutrition & dietetics, children's health, women's health, etc."
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window "Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Also featured are abstracts and indexing for nearly 850 journals. Coverage of nursing and allied health is particularly strong, including full text from Creative Nursing, Issues in Comprehensive Pediatric Nursing, Issues in Mental Health Nursing, Journal of Advanced Nursing, Journal of Child & Adolescent Psychiatric Nursing, Journal of Clinical Nursing, Journal of Community Health Nursing, Journal of Nursing Management, Nursing Ethics, Nursing Forum, Nursing Inquiry, and many more. In addition, this database includes Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names." -- EBSCO
JAMA Network This link opens in a new window "Building on a tradition of editorial excellence, The JAMA Network brings JAMA together with the 9 specialty Archives Journals to offer enhanced access to the research, reviews, and perspectives shaping the future of medicine. Through a variety of innovative tools, The JAMA Network provides the insights that matter most to medical research and practice. "-- Website
Through this resource, articles are available in JAMA from 1998 up to the current issue. Articles in the Archive Journals are available from 1998 up until about 12 months ago.
Ovid Nursing Collection This link opens in a new window Collection of over 80 full text nursing journals that may be either browsed or searched.

All Health Sciences Databases
List of all McFarlin Library research databases with material relevant to the field of Health Sciences.

Other Helpful Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window "Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 9,810 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc." -- EBSCO
ProQuest Ebook Central This link opens in a new window "[Ebook Central's] Academic Complete is ProQuest’s award-winning subscription database trusted by libraries around the world. For more than a decade, students have relied on Academic Completes unlimited access, multidisciplinary coverage, and powerful research tools." -- ProQuest

MEDLINE Quick Search

Summon Quick Search

Search the library using Summon for books, ebooks, journal articles, DVDs, and other materials you need.

Looking for a specific Journal?

Search here to see if McFarlin subscribes to a journal you need:

Medicine Quick Guide: Medical Databases

Top Choices for Medicine & Sports Medicine

More Health Sciences Databases

Other Helpful Databases

MEDLINE Quick Search

Summon Quick Search

Looking for a specific Journal?

Search for Dissertations and Theses

Google Scholar

Acceptable Use of Electronic Resources